We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Under Milkwood Chalets
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$295
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$547
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$67
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$51
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
265
104
12
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
104
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle creusetself cateringprivate beachfree canoesunder milk woodpots and pansthe water's edgelow tidelovely chaleteast head cafecleaned every dayknysna headsshort walkmain bedroomlog cabinknysna lagoonwell equipped kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 385 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I loved it, views are incredible, staff are so friendly and I found the room to be exceptional. I certainly look forward to visiting again soon. A truly luxurious experience in every way. Paul from London

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if possible, but even the other rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We checked in to Under Milkwood and found that it smelled like the Staff never discovered cleaning tools. There was nothing special there except the placement of the hotel and the beach. To be exact, the smell was mildew.
The kids ran wild because there was nothing for them to do. We were going to stay for two days, but we made it a B&B. Please do NOT come here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fourinourfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Amazing place. Log cabins right on the shallow beach of Knysna inlet - kids were delighted. Beautiful cabins with 2 bed, 2 bath, full kitchen, BBQ and living. We only had one night but should have stayed a week. It is out of town but that is not all bad! Sunset was amazing and the kids loved being paddled around in the canoes (all included).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Stayed here just a couple of nights during a tour of the Garden Route. Wished it was longer. We were in a waterfront cabin (Strangely called "Sailors Arms") The cabin had a fairly basic twin bedroom, a double bedroom with en-suite, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable lounge area opening onto a balcony with spectacular views across the lagoon. Just a few steps down from the balcony was a small private beach, with canoes you could paddle around in if the fancy took you. There was a separate decked area at the side with the ubiquitous barbecue and an outdoor dining area. The lodge does serve breakfast, but it is much better to buy your own and sit on your balcony and take in the view. Although there's no restaurant/bar on site, Paquita's Restaurant & Bar is a short walk down the hill right on the Eastern Head (where the ocean enters the lagoon) Not exactly gourmet, but good value and a top location. All in all, Under Milkwood is an idyllic little place if you want to chill out. Take note it is about 6km outside Knysna town centre, so if you want to look around the town, you'll need to drive.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I have just booked into our chalet at Under milkwood in Knysna and am still reeling from the disappointment.
It is nothing more than a cramped dark dingy accommodation with a narrow balcony.
The cabin is tiny, the wood is does not seem maintained and has a scruffy overall look which makes the entire place seem dirty.
I booked a hillside chalet for the views, which in no way make up for staying in a little box. I made the booking after looking on the internet and the photos don't resemble the accommodation at all.
The price is far too expensive for what you receive and does not reflect value for money. How it was rated as a four star establishment escapes me.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank camper911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews