We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excitingly different forest stay with gourmet food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excitingly different forest stay with gourmet food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

Lodge with private huts build on poles in the middle of the forest. Luxury rooms with extraordinary bathroom with forest view. We were awakened by the vervet monkeys jumping on our roof and spectacular birds singing. There is some noise from the N2 highway, which is under construction. But the place in the middle of the forest is so charming, that we noticed the birds more. It is in the wild, so be prepared to get close to all kinds of animals - they do have some very big spiders there too, so we were happy with the mosquito net over the bed. The Boma restaurant where kitchenchef Kristine creates magnificent gourmet food from the best quality products was the best restaurant we visited on our SA trip, and the Moroccan restaurant is also very good. Be prepared to eat much too much!
The lodge has som canoes and we paddled up the river and had a picnic lunch. Great fun.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelleVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    48
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
24
261
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

This "eco lodge resort" is perfect for a relaxing couple of days. Perched on the side a a hill overlooking Knysna lagoon the wooden cottages may be eco friendly but are also luxurious and private. Bathroom and showers with open windows to the world,but no possibility of anyone looking in add to the attrcativeness of the location. Good food in two restaurants, a spa service of quality and two pools in locations that give you spectacular views of the lagoon, mean this is a place you don't need or want to leave whilst your stay is in progress. And not a single television screen in sight which really pleased my wife - but for workaholics and thouse who like regular contact with the outside world there is free wireless internet access of a resonable quality.
Staff were all very helpful and pleasant.
Well recommended fora copupleofnights as part of a Garden Route journey.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntrepidVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

The rooms in this hotel are great, loved the privacy, the outdoor bathing and the forest experience. I was not overly impressed by the rest of the lodge, the food was not great and frankly - why have a moroccan restaurant when you could just present good quality south african cuisine?

The dinners were overpriced and the breakfast average. The spa treatments were also not up to par given the calibre of hotel this intends to be. So, all in, disappointing. The rooms are stunning, clean and private with great bathrooms but the rest needs to be sorted out for this to be a top experience.

Shame...

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexvonkoczian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

We stayed at the Phantom Forest during our honeymoon and would recommend it to anyone!

The service was impeccable, the accommodation out of this world and the food was to die for.

It was a truly wonderful experience!!!

  • Liked — Style
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SamandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

Superb lodge within the forest. Very friendly and helpful staff. The resort can only be reached by a shuttle service. The quality of the food is up to the highest standards. You would never expect such a beautiful place in the forest. Everything is clean and well kept.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bsc_wuenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

Last March my girlfriend and I spent two nights at the Phantom Forest Eco Reserve.

Despite the fact that during one of the two days of our stay it rained for most of the time, we loved our stay.

The best thing about this hotel is that it is located on a forest hill. The place has about a dozen tree suites, which are scattered across the hill. The tree suites are well separated from each other, so you can enjoy full privacy. To get to the tree suites there is a wooden walk way, which only makes the experience more exciting.

We were not very enthusiastic about the decoration, design or finishing of the huts (we found the design rather conservative), but our tree suite had an amazing view over the Knysna bay. Moreover, on the terrace we had a jacuzzi, where we could stay without being watched by anyone. Simply spectacular.

At the hotel you can also have breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is truly excellent and food prices are a bargain, especially compared to European levels. We found the 6 courses or so for dinner a bit heavy on the stomach though.

I must admit that this experience does not come cheap. The place is rather expensive, but normally one has to pay for unique experiences.

  • Liked — Terrace of tree suite
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfcastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

This is without a doubt the most amazing place I have ever stayed in my life! I was so excited to come on and write a review about it but I just can't believe the negative reviews about the place. I haven't got one negative thing I could possibly say about the place. It was more amazing than I could have ever imagined. Such a unique place. The service was outstanding. It was so amazing to go to dinner and come back to find the room had been serviced again and the electric blanket plugged in!!! The privacy was amazing, even the outdoor hot- tub. You had to book a time to use it so that you could have it to yourself. The ensuite bathroom was so amazing. Stayed in a morroccan suite. Absolutely loved the decor. It was a quiet time during South African winter when we stayed. Went online but when I contacted the lodge directly they did an amazing deal. Had only intended staying one night but immediately booked 2 as the price was so good. They upgraded us to Moroccan suite and 6 course dinner included both nights. The breakfast was fantastic as was all the food we ate. Gourmet! Loved the cosy bar area and as for Knysna itself - it was my favourite place along the Garden Route. This special place will stay with me forever. I so look forward to returning one day.

  • Liked — The luxury, tranquility, spa treatments, food, atmosphere, service and surroundings!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing - I absolutely loved the whole experience
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinTourist78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
6.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.0 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.2 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Property: The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Address: 27 Phantom River Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Phantom Forest lodge and boma restaurant is situated in a private reserve on the Knysna River estuary, a magnificent setting of indigenous forest, fynbos and estuarine wetland. Designed to create only the lightest footprint , Phantom Forest offers superb luxury in complete harmony with nature. Accommodation consists of fourteen evocative "tree suites", perfectly integrated into the forest. Nature lovers can explore the reserve via forest and fynbos trails or canoe trips along the river. The Boma restaurant offers international cuisine served in the classic style while the body boma wellness spa provides a range of natural treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve Hotel Knysna
Phantom Forest Eco Reserve Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing