We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Phantom is an amazing experience. The location is outstanding with the most beautiful scenery and surroundings. The rooms/ chalets are very,very nice and allow stunning views whilst in the bath and shower.
The food is equally good, with the 6 course dinner menu providing wonderful tastes of S.A. cuisine.
My wife and I will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Beatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your review on the Phantom Forest eco-reserve. We are delighted that you had a good stay and we look forward to hosting yourself and your wife in the future!
Regards, the Phantom team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 351 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were delighted with our visit, which surpassed our expectations.

We stayed three nights, and just wandering around on the wooden walkways saw monkies and deer, and from our deck saw many beautiful birds. A guide to them is left in every room, which is a nice touch. The suites are all completely private and set apart from other suites, and beautifully decorated providing you with your own romantic little sanctuary.

Perhaps the best surprise for us was the quality of the food - everything was fresh, expertly cooked, with a variety of flavour combinations and textures which made every mouthful pure pleasure.

Finally, the staff were super - very friendly, genuine people who made us feel at home. If we ever come back to Knysna, this is the only place we will be staying.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elinor & Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your awesome review that you left about our lodge! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in our piece of paradise and that you managed to connect with the elusive wildlife living in our forest.
Your comments have helped to keep the team motivated and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Take care
regards from the Phantom team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stumbled across this gem of a place quite by accident and had the most fantastic experience. The secluded tree huts are stunningly luxurious and the food is absolutely 5 star. We were even greeted by a beautiful little Bushbuck. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Definitely the upper tree camp suites that boast an outdoor spa bath.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoniS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your review that you submitted about our lodge!
Besides the cuisine, we are delighted that you experienced one of our elusive bushbuck!
We hope to and look forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Regards
The Phantom team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

outstanding! my wife and myself spent 2 fantastic days of our honeymoon in phnatom forest. we felt like in paradise. exquisite cuisine as well. we come back for sure. totally relaxing and excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Klaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your review left on behalf of yourself and your wife with regards to the Phantom Forest eco-reserve!
We are delighted that you had a good experience and look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Congratulations once again on your celebration of love!

Regards
The Phantom team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Booked a week ahead to dine at Phantom Forest with friends for a special occasion and booking accepted.
At midday on the day we were due to go, we were told that they were full and would not honour our booking. They said that when we made the booking it was only provisional and that we had been told that. This was a completely untrue, no such comment was made when we booked.
They are obviously not to be relied upon. There are many other excellent restuarants in the Knysna area -- use them - not Phantom Forest.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank 269RonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

We do regret that you were unable to dine with your friends at our lodge for your special occasion.
Dinner bookings are only made provisional and confirmed on the day of arrival.
This must have been an unfortunate communication error with one of our staff.
For this we do apologise!

We do urge you however to give us another chance to prove to you that we will surpass any restaurant in the area with regards to an amazing and exquisite dinner experience!

Regards,
the Phantom team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Phantom was recommended to us by a Knysna resident, and the recommendation
sure lived up to its name - class.
The tree rooms are very private and delightful. We really could not fault anything in the rooms
or on the property. I personally dont think it is a young child place - older children can keep
quiet when asked to whilst young ones have noise problems. Having said that we did not use any of the leisure facilites which I think would keep one people happy. The food was excellent - the 7 course dinner whilst sounding daunting was very well prepared and presented and not alot of food by south african standards. The staff were very accomodating when we arrived preparing a small picnic for us to eat when we arrived late, and also seeing us off very early when we left.
I definite must stay and a quiet haven in the hustle and bustle of Knysna.

Room Tip: If you find walking up long walkways difficult ask for the rooms closer to the reception areas. We f...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hi Sandra

Thank you for your review on our lodge!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at Phantom forest and look forward to hosting yourself and your guests in the future!

Best regards
The Phantom team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We very much enjoyed the acommodation and the views from our room. We were also most impressed by the two dinners we had - the quality of the food and service was excellent.

It was our second stay and our expectations were fully met. However we do suggest that there should maybe some warning about the distance, and the inclines in accessing the accommodation to the Upper Camp. It was quite a walk to our accommodation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gavin & Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hi Gavin and Jane

Thank you for your review and recommendations with regards to our lodge.
We do take suggestions seriously and we will certainly address yours!

We hope to host you once again in the future!

Best regards
The Phantom team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
16.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
547 reviews
6.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
821 reviews
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Address: 27 Phantom River Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $88 - $1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Phantom Forest lodge and boma restaurant is situated in a private reserve on the Knysna River estuary, a magnificent setting of indigenous forest, fynbos and estuarine wetland. Designed to create only the lightest footprint , Phantom Forest offers superb luxury in complete harmony with nature. Accommodation consists of fourteen evocative "tree suites", perfectly integrated into the forest. Nature lovers can explore the reserve via forest and fynbos trails or canoe trips along the river. The Boma restaurant offers international cuisine served in the classic style while the body boma wellness spa provides a range of natural treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve Hotel Knysna
Phantom Forest Eco Reserve Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing