We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

+ beautiful, remote setting
+ luxurious facilities with a rustic feel
+ outstanding food
+ top service

Perfect place to truly unwind. The tree houses are set in the forest and feel very private despite massive windows giving you great views of the area. Staff were welcoming and helpful, but also give you plenty of privacy.

We only stayed for two nights so didn't get to enjoy all of the resort amenities as much as I would have liked. I would recommend staying here for longer to make the most of it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSquirrelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    51
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
25
267
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went to Phantom Forest for our honeymoon. Being a same sex couple, we are always a little apprehensive about how we will be received when traveling together. Since this was our honeymoon, we decided to just be totally honest and open about it so that we could just be ourselves.

Well, I'm delighted to say that we were not disappointed. We were treated with the utmost respect by ALL staff and given equal treatment including the customary champagne in our room with our names written on the card. We really appreciated the acknowledgment of our relationship.

As to the accommodation itself - this is really a completely unique experience. You are absolutely in the forest and it is absolutely beautiful. The staff are so helpful and friendly despite having to work in soaring temperatures and running up and down walkways. They really go out of their way to help you.

We made use of the Bubble barrel every morning - that is NOT to be missed. We also enjoyed a massage and the little rooms used for this are high up in the forest so you feel totally alone and totally at peace.

There is, obviously, a concerted effort by the lodge to keep everything eco friendly. That means that there is no aircon. The rooms are well ventilated but it is still very hot sometimes. That is a pity but there is a fan and one should just remember that the point is to be eco friendly. We just walked around in our bathing suits and enjoyed the Summer weather.

The breakfasts are really excellent. The waiters had to run out with paintball guns every now and then to keep the monkeys away. It was great fun to watch all the goings-on. The birdlife is also absolutely breathtaking.

We made use of the pools, the canoeing, the cocktails before dinner and I can't fault any of it. The service was excellent.

One warning - I don't like spiders. I love nature, but I don't like spiders. This is an eco reserve and it happened more than once that a spider dropped down from the roof. This did unsettle me but once again - it's all part of the magic. There is always someone willing to assist you remove any creepy crawly visitors from your room and the beds have nets over them so you can sleep peacefully.

We also LOVED the double showers. It overlooks the forest. The bathroom is luxurious and yet equally "rustic". I highly recommend sipping champagne while sitting in the sunken bath on the deck. The forest is thick and no one can see onto your deck so you can even walk around naked on your outside deck.

I must admit that we were not blown away by the one evening meal we had at the reserve. The food was nice but it was perhaps not their best night. It also became incredibly hot inside the eating area once everyone was inside. It might be more pleasant to eat outside if there is space because the heat can be quite stifling inside, since there's no aircon.

This is really an experience not to be missed. I WILL be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindmarsh Island, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was the experience of a lifetime. From making our booking, arriving at the Reserve, checking in, being escorted to our tree suite, the luxury of the room and the bathroom, dinner, breakfast, absolutely everything - this place does it all perfectly. The uniqueness of the experience and the attention to detail are commendable. The staff are wonderful and the food - well the dinner (and breakfast) experience must be the best we have ever had, anywhere in the world and we are seasoned travelers and in the hospitality game ourselves! Congratulations Kit - you should write a book on hospitality as you have got it 100% right! Congratulations Robyn - as a chef you are up there with the best in the world - beautiful, beautiful food, full of flavour, light and heavenly delicious! We will struggle to find the same experience again and we will definitely be back when we next visit South Africa. A truly good for the soul experience...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wow! what a stunning place and so unique - it is absolutely fabulous. The treehouses are built in such a way that from the road you cant see them at all - you only see the natural vegetation. The views are spectacular overlooking the Knysna river lagoon. The accommodation is amazingly luxurious and the food is wonderful so are the staff - so very friendly and willing to assist in every respect. Magic place to unwind and relax. We didnt want to leave it was so perfect....

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrepieterse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

What an incredible little retreat in the forest with a wonderful view. The treehouses are gorgeously unique and do have all the amenities of a 5 star hotel - heated floors, 6 piece bathroom, beautiful linens, and nature all around you. The meals have been superb and the hiking and walking are great

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquieBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed here twice- once with my boyfriend and once with a group of 20 friends. I and have been overwhelmed by this places beauty, the service, and above all the INCREDIBLE FOOD! I will find it difficult to ever stay anywhere else when visiting Knysna!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if possible as in some rooms the forest prevents you from seeing it in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viva_la_diva_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Staying here in the treetops was an incredible experience. We almost hated to leave the room with its comfortable furnishings and fabulous views. The bathroom with its oversize, multi-head shower and huge tub was great and the large picture windows made it better. Service is wonderful and the the food was terrific. If you are lucky as we were you will see a Knysna loerie, a stunning green, blue and scarlet bird from your window.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniorvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
6.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
16.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Property: The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Address: 27 Phantom River Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Phantom Forest lodge and boma restaurant is situated in a private reserve on the Knysna River estuary, a magnificent setting of indigenous forest, fynbos and estuarine wetland. Designed to create only the lightest footprint , Phantom Forest offers superb luxury in complete harmony with nature. Accommodation consists of fourteen evocative "tree suites", perfectly integrated into the forest. Nature lovers can explore the reserve via forest and fynbos trails or canoe trips along the river. The Boma restaurant offers international cuisine served in the classic style while the body boma wellness spa provides a range of natural treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve Hotel Knysna
Phantom Forest Eco Reserve Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing