We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
258
51
22
8
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
51
22
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoontree houseboma restaurantmoroccan suitecourse menumagical placetwo nightsbreakfast and dinnerstunning viewsunderfloor heatingworld classgarden routelounge areasouth africabarrelmonkeysforest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 352 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

What a amazing place from the location to the rooms and the food, this is a must. We did the canoe down the river and had a picnic in which phantom supplied which was amazing. The forest trail was good fun, bubble barrel was lovely even when the sky's turned grey. The food in there restaurant out of this world , 6 course dinner at a very good price. BreAkfast was great to the mushrooms where cooked lovely best brekkie I had on our journey round SA.
The bathroom was all glass so you could look out into the trees, don't worry no one can see in, also a bath outside if u fancied weather permitting.

Room Tip: We had the upper tree lodge striletzih very nice
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leigh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Have stayed in many "tree houses." this by far is the most luxe, fantastic bath tubs, wonderfully whimsical decor, excellent staff, great meals, and don't forget the monkeys! The bubble barrel worth a shot, and the massage at the body boma was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I absolutely loved staying at Phantom - wonderful accommodation, Jacuzzi bath, comforts and seclusion, and superb dining. The breakfasts were divine - everything was homemade, with special touches. Highly highly recommended, this is a special place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Deep in the forest overlooking the Knysna lagoon and some wonderful wetland the location is truly magical with individual beautifully appointed wooden suites connected by boardwalks to the restaurant and bar areas. The food in the restaurant is splendid and the chef and her brigade change the menu daily which must take some doing. All the staff were helpful and charming.We took a canoe with picnic down the river and walked one of the forest trails. Just lovely and fun.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snippetthewhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We spent three nights at Phantom Forest on our Honeymoon. It was SO special. We stayed in the Upper Tree Camp, the Tree-houses are so magic, with double showers with awesome views, an indoor Victorian bath and very fun outdoor Jacuzzi Bath, where one can sit and see the Southern cross in the Sky while sipping some Bubbly! The six course meal we had on our first night was very special, with some interesting combinations.

We did a lot of activities while at Phantom Forest, we went on a two hour canoe, attempted to cycle to Brenton-on-Sea, managed 15km's ( a lot of steep up hill's), we also went on the Forest trail. So great to be able to return to the stunning setting of the peaceful tree-house. We would also recommend making use of the bubble barrel after a long day's activity, very fun and relaxing. I enjoyed an awesome full body hot-stone massage and foot exfoliation at the Body Boma! I can highly recommend this treat after all the activities, very relaxing.

The breakfasts at Phantom Forest as just the BEST, make sure you enjoy these each morning, as we didn't need to eat again until dinner, as the breakfast was so generous and delicious! Look out for the naughty monkey's and Knysna Loerie's who frequented our breakfast area.

We would recommend Phantom Forest as a very magic place to get away from everything and make you feel relaxed and happy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JessicadeJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews