We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decadence from the tree tops (with the vervet monkey)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“decadence from the tree tops (with the vervet monkey)”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Have stayed in many "tree houses." this by far is the most luxe, fantastic bath tubs, wonderfully whimsical decor, excellent staff, great meals, and don't forget the monkeys! The bubble barrel worth a shot, and the massage at the body boma was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    51
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
25
271
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I absolutely loved staying at Phantom - wonderful accommodation, Jacuzzi bath, comforts and seclusion, and superb dining. The breakfasts were divine - everything was homemade, with special touches. Highly highly recommended, this is a special place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Deep in the forest overlooking the Knysna lagoon and some wonderful wetland the location is truly magical with individual beautifully appointed wooden suites connected by boardwalks to the restaurant and bar areas. The food in the restaurant is splendid and the chef and her brigade change the menu daily which must take some doing. All the staff were helpful and charming.We took a canoe with picnic down the river and walked one of the forest trails. Just lovely and fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snippetthewhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergvliet, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We spent three nights at Phantom Forest on our Honeymoon. It was SO special. We stayed in the Upper Tree Camp, the Tree-houses are so magic, with double showers with awesome views, an indoor Victorian bath and very fun outdoor Jacuzzi Bath, where one can sit and see the Southern cross in the Sky while sipping some Bubbly! The six course meal we had on our first night was very special, with some interesting combinations.

We did a lot of activities while at Phantom Forest, we went on a two hour canoe, attempted to cycle to Brenton-on-Sea, managed 15km's ( a lot of steep up hill's), we also went on the Forest trail. So great to be able to return to the stunning setting of the peaceful tree-house. We would also recommend making use of the bubble barrel after a long day's activity, very fun and relaxing. I enjoyed an awesome full body hot-stone massage and foot exfoliation at the Body Boma! I can highly recommend this treat after all the activities, very relaxing.

The breakfasts at Phantom Forest as just the BEST, make sure you enjoy these each morning, as we didn't need to eat again until dinner, as the breakfast was so generous and delicious! Look out for the naughty monkey's and Knysna Loerie's who frequented our breakfast area.

We would recommend Phantom Forest as a very magic place to get away from everything and make you feel relaxed and happy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessicadeJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motril
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this unique lodge, which is totally different in concept and location to anywhere else we have stayed. The accommodation was very different and although rustic we found it to be very comfortable. The local vervet monkeys offered plenty of amusement with their (seemingly) well planned raids to steal food from the breakfast table. The only down side we could find has been mentioned by another reviewer which is the, sometimes, invasive road noise. The food was very good and that fact was supported by the number of non-residents visiting the restaurant for their evening meal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theoliversmotril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We had a super meal here several years ago. The restaurant has now been expanded and has a different and arrogant " chef " who needs to go to catering school to learn how to run a large restaurant.Our food was simply unacceptable. My wife ordered lamb and was given duck. Upon complaining the aggressive and arrogant chef had the effrontery to tell my wife she had not been given duck but that it was lamb. My meat ,whatever it was was tasteless, tough and inedible.
When it comes to food we know what we are talking about and generally eat in the best places we can find...see my review of The Tasting Rooms at Franschhoek.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hallbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KitKnysna, Owner at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
When this guest complained, the waiter cleared both servings ( as in-house policy). Chef cooked and presented new portions of lamb (lady) and wildebeest fillet (gentleman). Now he was unhappy and lady satisfied indicating she would prefer to eat her lamb. Chef started again with the game dish . . . new fillet and presented (for the3 third time). Chef now visited the table to share our policy of every guest having an extraordinary culinery experience. Our whole menu of six courses ( with 4 choices on entre, main and desert, changing in entirety nightly).
The guest was sadly very hostile and as we were unable to please, the charge for both main courses was then waivered,.
This extreme, malicious criticism is without doubt intended as damaging to the fine reputation of a very talented and long-suffering chef.
In conclusion we suggested to our farmer that he seperates his ducks and sheep in case of accidental cross-breeding thereby giving a whole new meaning to Free Range !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Having had high expectations of this place, it was a very disappointing stay. The positives are that the concept is great, the tree houses are nice and the food is good. Sadly there are more negatives, the room prices are crazy for what you get, we stayed in much better places at a fraction of the price. The whole place looks tired and in parts very neglected. The worst issue was the road noise, you are paying for a forest expereince which you would think is quiet and peaceful, you are in reality facing the N2 motorway and hear road traffic at an excessive level all the time. Lots of people come in for dinner, which is a good idea as the food is good and you sit inside so cant hear any road noise. Staying there was not good value and very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OJennyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
6.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
16.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve

Property: The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Address: 27 Phantom River Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Phantom Forest lodge and boma restaurant is situated in a private reserve on the Knysna River estuary, a magnificent setting of indigenous forest, fynbos and estuarine wetland. Designed to create only the lightest footprint , Phantom Forest offers superb luxury in complete harmony with nature. Accommodation consists of fourteen evocative "tree suites", perfectly integrated into the forest. Nature lovers can explore the reserve via forest and fynbos trails or canoe trips along the river. The Boma restaurant offers international cuisine served in the classic style while the body boma wellness spa provides a range of natural treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and South African Hotels so you can book your The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve Hotel Knysna
Phantom Forest Eco Reserve Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing