We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for Money!”
Review of Knysna River Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna River Club
Ranked #24 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
359 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,317 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for Money!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Try and book Cabin number One, if you can, although the others are just as lovely. An entire little house with Bedroom,bathroom, sitting-room and terrace fully fitted, right on the waters-edge. Fabulously tranquil! A great place to go at a more than generous price. Well situated to travel around to the Tsitsikamma National Park, Oudshoorn and much more on the Garden Route of South Africa. I can highly recommend this to anyone traveling around the Western Cape.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequenttraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    61
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
63
61
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent three nights here, Our first impression was how helpful the security guard was, helping us find our chalet and take our luggage in. Their security was fantastic through the time. The chalets were clean, and we were delighted to discover that the sheets and linen were new and of good quality, as was the mattress. the staff came in to clean every day and even did our dishes. The view across the lagoon was amazing and one evening we sat on the jetty with our glass of wine and watched the most amazing sunset. The only downside is the noise from road which is nearby. Not dire, but a nuisance.

Room Tip: chalets 1 and 2 are right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

All round excellent stay, lovely wooden chalets set in a lush garden, parking just outside our chalet, and the knysna lagoon a few steps away. The area is very quiet and calm, a couple of hundred meters away from the N2 and a 2 minute drive to the center of Knysna. The interior is spacious, a little out-dated. The wifi only worked outside the cabin, and in the evening we could hear the neighbors speaking quite loudly, but otherwise all was well

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaP13100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I and my spouse went for a honeymoon trip to knysna river club hotel. We were from India and we decided to spend our honeymoon trip to South Africa but little bit confuse about d tour.After much haggling on internet we finally book a tour from Antilog Vacations who provide good african trips. An 8 hour flight frm Mumbai to durrban and den cab picked us fr 8 day long tour. Knysna river club is located in the heart of South Africa route coast. The knysna river club is ultimate lagoon resort for a perfect holiday trip for honeymoon couples.

Our stay at knysna royal club was exceptionally pleasant and enthusiastic. The self catering system at kynsna river club offerd the new variety of items and I felt like we were eating at home. The excellent dinners enjoyed at boogies, the onsite restaurant was definitely highlighted. Our room kitchen was superb and if you are food making for ur taste then it's very useful for you

Our room accommodation in kynsna river club hotel ws one bedroom wooden chalets on the edge of the knysna lagoon. Each chalet is tastefully furnished and fully equipped with modern amenities. The river club is surrounded by shady trees and well tended gardens. Our room balcony facing the Knysna Lake looks awesome. We no need to keep alarm to wake early morning. We wake to the sound of bird sing and we had the morning coffee onto the deck with my wife. The facilities at hotel knysna river club are satellite TV in all rooms, air conditioner, 24 hours reception, Gym and indoor swimming pool, safe parking, credit cards accepted etc.

Early morning I went for a swim nd literally it become my habit. Here too I follow the same habit. Before having my breakfast I wud religiously go for an early swim in the lagoon. The staffs are friendly and helpful. keen to help us. Thanks to all the staffs and manager who make our trip memorable and I'm sure I will visit the heavenly home feel hotel in future with my family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you are looking for a no frills, stay for a week with a family cabin...this is your place. It is not luxury by any means. There is no AC, shampoo or any "extras". The towels and furniture were dated. The Wifi didn't work and there was no help from management. With a few special touches, it could be a decent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
248 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Definitely overrated! This is self catering like a caravan park. The outside of the cabins are quite cute. The internal decor is very dated, and in desperate need of renovation. They could do with the installation of wifi. Way too expensive for an old, shabby cabin.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malelane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I struggled with e-mail communication/ we booked for an extra person in a one bedroom chalet- NO bedding provided for the bunk-bed- when we phone 20h30, nobody answer the phone an we had to sleep with no bedding on an ice-cold evening end of September 2012! No refund for the extra monies paid for that night for the 3rd person was offered? I saw all the good remark and that's why we booked there as we did not want bad service - and this was really not so nice?
I will not make use of them again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riekiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
7.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Knysna Chalets
Knysna Chalets
#84 of 126 in Knysna
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cape Gordonia
Cape Gordonia
#16 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
21 reviews
2.5 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 103 in Knysna
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abalone Lodges
Abalone Lodges
#69 of 126 in Knysna
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna River Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna River Club

Property: Knysna River Club
Address: Sun Valley Drive | Costa Sarda, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna River Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of the Knysna Lagoon, Knysna River Club is a private enclave of charming, luxury self-catering log chalets in the heart of South Africa's Garden Route coast. Surrounded by shady trees and well-tended gardens, the resort offers security, privacy and comfort for guests looking to unwind, and is the ideal venue from which to explore the quaint lagoon-side town of Knysna. Whether you want an active holiday or the chance to relax in the tranquil surrounds, we offer you a value for money accommodation, in a convenient location close to all amenities, the warm hospitality of our friendly staff, the comfort of our upgraded chalets and the opportunity to experience an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knysna River Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna River Club Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing