We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is the dream that count.”
Review of Knysna River Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna River Club
Ranked #19 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is the dream that count.”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

As a tourist guide I have the priveledge to stay in many hotels, lodges and B&B"s. The Knysna river club is way up with the best. The location is great, chalets roomy and well laid out. there is more than enough activities to keep all ages busy. However they should reconsider their association with an on site restaurant named Boogies. We needed prepared breakfast packs as we were checking out at 7.00am before the restaurant would open at 7.30am. trying to contact the restaurant on the Sunday (closed) via mobile number provided by security was a nightmare as there were no response to urgent Mtn call backs or sms detailing the request. We left without any breakfast or even an apology. When restaurant was advised of being reviewed on Facebook and Tripadvisor, a reply was received threatening legal action. That confirms previous messages was recieved but it was ignored.

Room Tip: Choose units that faces the lagoon for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    63
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
67
63
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maclear, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I've won the Hooligans Hot Mamma competition and the prize was for 7 days at the Knysna River Club resort. We traveled almost 9 hours to get there and enjoyed every minute of it there! The reception was outstanding and all the employees that we had contact with was very friendly and room service was a BIG bonus! Good to go on holiday and not worry about washing up and cleaning... gives the feeling of a real relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lidia En Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our stay at the Knysna River Club was exceptionally pleasant. The cabins were clean, neat and tidy. I felt safe at all times and slept like a baby! The rooms are a good size and the beds and bedding very comfortable. Woke up to a stunning view every morning! Beautiful large balcony facing onto the Knysna lake. The club grounds and gardens are very well maintained. Highly recommend the Knysna river Club for another Knysna stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaLassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kommadagga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Thanks so much for a lovely stay! We had a wonderful time just relaxing and enjoying the lovely view from our chalet! The accommodation was lovely and spacious, neat and clean. The service was great and the staff friendly! We will definately be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ren_WKommadagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

To stay at this resort, has been the best holiday ever and we have been to a few resorts. From the staff, to the amenities, to the cleanliness, everything was brilliant. And to top it off we got upgraded free of charge from a 1 bedroomed to a 2 bedroomed chalet facing the lagoon! We are returning in May for another fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarakinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Having just returned from our 4th time staying at The River Club, we had a really awesome time.We been visiting for the last 7 years. From a self catering point of view and recreation, we thoroughly enjoy the home away from home feel. The furniture, bath with shower, and technology in terms of appliances could perhaps use an upgrade after all these years. Especially the TV, we did notice lagoon facing cabins have plasma screens. Perhaps a coffee plunger would be great too. Overall the accommodation is comfortable, staff very friendly, well serviced and immaculately cleaned daily and best of all well priced for a 4 star graded establishment.
Thank you and we look forward to our return soon again.

Room Tip: Try and request a lagoon facing cabin, the view is a must see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeTownBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We have just returned from a 7-day stay at the Knysna River Club - an experience we hope to repeat soon. All staff, including receptionists, cleaners and security were extremely friendly and helpful, and the chalets pristine (cleaned daily) and well appointed. The many excellent dinners enjoyed at Boogie's, the onsite restaurant, was a definite highlight. Chef Burghard delighted with his cooking skills and entertained with his dry, witty sense of humour. We will definitely be directing all friends and family visiting Knysna to this restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.8 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
1.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
2.5 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 105 in Knysna
329 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 127 in Knysna
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna River Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna River Club

Property: Knysna River Club
Address: Sun Valley Drive | Costa Sarda, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna River Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of the Knysna Lagoon, Knysna River Club is a private enclave of charming, luxury self-catering log chalets in the heart of South Africa's Garden Route coast. Surrounded by shady trees and well-tended gardens, the resort offers security, privacy and comfort for guests looking to unwind, and is the ideal venue from which to explore the quaint lagoon-side town of Knysna. Whether you want an active holiday or the chance to relax in the tranquil surrounds, we offer you a value for money accommodation, in a convenient location close to all amenities, the warm hospitality of our friendly staff, the comfort of our upgraded chalets and the opportunity to experience an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Knysna River Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna River Club Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing