We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views!”
Review of Headlands House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Headlands House
Ranked #14 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the bird's view suite and had fantastic views on the Knysna Lagune on the one side and the Indian Ocean on the other. Very good views from the huge bathtub too. Apparently the BnB got a new owner in March 2014, she and the housemaid were very friendly and helpful. We were did not get pancakes and crepes with berries in many other BnBs in South Africa and loved them for breakfast in the Headlands House. The interior was in a fairly good condition. Bed was comfy. Free Wifi. Headlands House has got different rooms. As it was not busy the owner offered us to stay in the birds view suite for the price of one of the other, cheaper rooms. This made it the best value for the money we could have imagined!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Denneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Headlands House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 193 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at Headlands House for two nights and had an absolutely wonderful time. On the first night of our stay, we were upgraded to the Elephant room, which was an absolute treat. The room boasts spectacular views of the Heads and has a lovely balcony perfect for enjoying sun downers. The following night, we stayed in the Bird's View room which, although not as spectacular in terms of the view as the Elephant Room, was still fantastic. Rooms were very clean and the linen was of very good quality. The manageress at Headlands House, Jean, was just lovely! She was available to look after our needs at all time, but without being intrusive, Breakfasts were very good - delicious omelettes! Enjoying the amazing views while having breakfast just adds to the whole experience. We will definitely recommend Headlands House to anyone looking for an unforgettable stay in Knysna.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lineevdmeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were two nights there. Wonderful place, very nice and clean rooms with spectecular viewings, very friendly people and good tips from Jean for restaurants and sightseeing. We always would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Headlands house was great. It's a small guest house with a lovely personal service from Jean (the host) who is very helpful in recommending and booking trips/ restaurants. The view of the heads is spectacular from the Coney Glen room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights, got upgraded to fabulous room overlooking The Heads. Only suggestion would be to modernise some of the decor, make less chintzy. But overall, excellent - especially Jean's advice and service.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dermotfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We travelled as a family and enjoyed our stay at Headlands house. Jean is a great host and made us feel most welcome. I had unfortuanately fractured my foot about 2 hours before getting there and Jean was quite caring. Despite the sore foot just one look at the view from our room made me feel better. What a view-- what a sight to wake up to. Incredible. The view at breakfast was breathtaking. Would i go back to this place---most certainly. Thank you Jean.
Prisheen Daya

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prisheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Spectacular view out from the "Elephante Suite" down to the knysna Heads and Beaches. Breakfast is more a brunch and of best quality. All individual wishes are going to be read out of you. Thanks for this top ratable reasonable stay !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ReinhardKuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.1 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#16 of 30 in Knysna
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#13 of 127 in Knysna
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands House

Address: 50 Coney Glen Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $91 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlands House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatic sea, lagoon and cliff views from every window. Uniquely situated on the highest point of the famous Knysna Heads, Headlands House offers breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Headlands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing