We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and warm”
Review of Headlands House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headlands House
Ranked #14 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2011

For our honeymoon we went to South Africa, what a great country to spend it.
We very much enjoyed our unexpected stay in Headlands House: We are sure that it was the room with the most spectacular view we had ever seen! And furthermore with a guestlady like Jean you immediately want to stay, what a warm welcome and a great service!

Room Tip: The biggest room on the top floor with the spectacular views!
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Headlands House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 193 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed as a family of 3 in December 2010, after having to move out early from poor accommodation in Leisure Isle. Well equipped rooms, great welcome and outstanding views. Very much appreciated advice on local restaurants from Tania and Jean. A real find was the Turbine, which was excellent value for money & great ambience. Breakfast was good, and we were able to have this looking out over the fabulous vista. Would recommend staying here to anyone looking for quality B&B in great location near Knysna.

Room Tip: CONEY GLEN SUITE in particular was great
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xanadu-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed here for one night only but felt very welcome and relaxed. Of course the view is stunning but surprisingly the friendly service matched the view. The bed could have been more comfortable and the Elephant room's TV cabinet doors would not stay closed. The breafast was good and the chocolates on departure definately made me leave with a smile.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlandshouse, Manager at Headlands House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

Thank you for your favourable review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that you didn’t find the bed comfortable enough - hard to find a happy medium, some prefer a firm mattress others prefer a softer one!
Thank you for bringing to our notice the tv cabinet doors. The latch is at the bottom shelf and perhaps not easy to find. We are addressing this to make it more user friendly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Headlands house is truly a gem with the most amazing views and perfect location. There service is outstanding. The rooms are beautifully decorated with breath taking views and has all modern comforts.Thanks for a memorable stay! will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chamelle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

The setting for the Headlands House Guest Lodge in Knysna is so magnificent it has to be seen to be believed; the pictures of the Lodge really do not do it justice. It truly is most spectacular.

And the scenery is matched by the Lodge itself with wonderful rooms offering private balconies, upscale furniture, and wonderful amenities. I stayed in a room with 2 balconies, one overlooking the Indian Ocean and one overlooking the mountains and lagoon. The bathroom had a great jacuzzi tub with again full views of the ocean and the room was spotless.

While it was a bit too cool to enjoy the pool and pool area, it too was fabulous. My breakfast was wonderful and cooked to order. To top it all off, I had mentioned to the manager that I enjoyed wine and they had a nice Merlot waiting for me in my room! Top notch service all around. Cannot recommend this Guest Lodge highly enough.

If I ever get a chance to return to Knysna, I'll head straight to the Headlands House Guest Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDMUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We had a great stay in the Elephant room with a breathtaking view of the ocean. Very friendly and helpfull staff with good recomondations.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfrider72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Headlands house has got an overwheloming panorama view to the entrance of knysna lagoon. Hospitality and service are very obliging. The only drop ob bitterness was the rate we had to pay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAFOE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.1 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#16 of 30 in Knysna
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#13 of 127 in Knysna
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands House

Address: 50 Coney Glen Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $91 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlands House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatic sea, lagoon and cliff views from every window. Uniquely situated on the highest point of the famous Knysna Heads, Headlands House offers breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Headlands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing