We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a comfortable place to stay with a beautiful view from the verandah” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falcons View Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcons View Manor
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a comfortable place to stay with a beautiful view from the verandah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

we only stayed two nights but would have loved to stay longer - nice and peaceful in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
274
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

An excellent hotel, on a hill above Knysna. The staff are very efficient, attentive, and helpful. Our room was at the front of the house, enjoying stunning views of the lagoon. Both the bedroom and bathroom were well appointed, and i particularly enjoyed the 'proper' coffee for the cafetiere.
We were lucky enough to be able to sit outside for breakfast , which was excellent, enjoying the lovely patio area.
The swimming pool and gardens were well kept and a beautiful place to soak up some sun.
We ate in the hotel one night, and the food was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — The views of the lagoon
  • Disliked — walk back up the hill
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DurhamSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2008

Adored this wonderful, historic property. The gardens are to die for. The manor house is sophisticated, yet casual. Lovely views of the harbour and mountains from the veranda where pre dinner drinks and canapes are served. Fantastic restaurant. Lovely pool and superb staff. Most highly recommended

  • Liked — The gardens
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank spoonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in November. The location is fantastic, set on the hillside with fabulous view over the lagoon. They have a nice balcony at the front where you can just sit and admire the view! But the downside to that is it is a bit far from the town centre – you can’t walk you’ll need to drive or take a taxi.

The guest house itself is very nice. Beautifully decorated and the rooms are very luxurious. We had a huge bed with so many pillows you just sank in. The bathroom was enormous with a big power shower and separate bath. The common areas were very nice too. Nice sitting areas to relax with a drink and the gardens are very well maintained.

Food very good. We had an evening meal one night and that was excellent. Breakfast again excellent – no complaints.

My only negative was we felt very young. We are 30 and brought the average age down dramatically. Everyone else there looked retirement age. Because of this we didn’t really feel totally relaxed. The guesthouse did seem to be more geared up for the more mature traveller. If this is you then I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sha78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

Stayed for two nights towards the end of September. Our garden apartment set aside from the main house was spacious and stylish and looking into a gorgeous tropical garden. The view from the main house
across the lagoon was breathtaking. The dinners and breakfasts were beautifully cooked and delicious. Manageress Barbara and her staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. It lives up to its five star rating. We would love to go back.

  • Liked — Very comfortable, good friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lordofthemiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2007

We spent 2 nights here as part of our honeymoon, it was simply wonderful and we wished we could have stayed longer. The house is beautifully decorated, beautiful gardens, food is amazing, staff are so helpful and the views are fabulous. If you are travelling along The Garden Route, this is a must stop. Have your breakfast on the lawn, just perfect!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wynne16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Autria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2006

We just returned from our holiday in South Africa and stayed one night in the Falcons View Manor Geust house not far from the centre of the town. This is more like a Boutique Hotel!and is magnificent! The rooms are equisite and the service wonderful. You can have tea served on the patio on front with the most magnificent views over the lakes. There is a small swimmingpool and a wonderful bar for evening cocktails watching the sunset.

Do try to have dinner in the small diningroom. The food and service is really wonderful. I could highly recommend this place as far as charm and value for money go. As we had a flight to catch from George airport to Cape Town we had to leave early in the morning and a wonderful breakfast was served before we left.

Helpful?
4 Thank Rienk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.2 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcons View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcons View Manor

Property: Falcons View Manor
Address: 2 Thesen Hill | Upper Central, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Falcons View Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falcons View Manor is a small Boutique Hotel on Thesen Hill in Knysna. Spectacular Views from the Victorian Veranda across the lagoon, beautiful garden and a small restaurants for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Falcons View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing