We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An English Villiage in S.A.”
Review of Belvidere Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvidere Manor
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Beuatiful hotel set overlooking the bay at Knysna. Each cottage is separate with up to three bedrooms and full kitchen with cooker, washing machine etc. for the longer stay.

Very chintzy but tastefully decorated with good toiletries. Some elements such as showers and fridges are showing some wear, but then who isn't.

Good restaurant altho the food tends to be a little heavy and good cellar. Breakfast is excellent with hot porridge available.

Better value for eating (food prepared in the same kitchen) is the village on-site pub - which takes you back to how pubs used to be in the UK. It also serves a good pint of local beer.

Would recomend this for an extended stay and (safe) base (private estate) to tour the surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Belvidere Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 283 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2009

We had a lagoon view lodge for our weeks stay and if you are looking for a quiet peacefull holiday this is the place to come,
Clean & spacious accommodation and lovelly grounds and about 15 minutes drive from Kynsna.
The staff were really helpful , never intrusive and always cheerful.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ggbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed at Belvidere Manor for two nights and absolutely enjoyed the tranquillity and serenity of the location. Our cottage was not only spacious, but also nicely decorated, cosy and absolutely spotless. We lit the little fireplace in the living room and enjoyed a romantic evening with some great wine from the Garden Route. The restaurant is also fantastic and the staff make every guest feel like he’s the only one.
Breakfast on the terrace is an awesome experience too – I guess the weather was also playing along and made it just perfect. Lot’s of fresh fruit, a variety of juices, breads, cheeses etc. You cannot ask for more!
Belvidere Manor is the perfect place to be if you would like to enjoy the Knysna lagoon, but don’t want to be in the middle of the busy holiday town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nemrac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We had a lagoon cottage which had a lovely view over the lagoon but was also an easy walk to the manor house for breakfast and to the pub for evening meals. The accommodation decor is starting to look a bit tired and in need of some maintenance but it is nonetheless comfortable and clean and very spacious. The food in the Bell Tree pub is fantastic and amazing value and the service was brilliant. We ended up eating there every night because we enjoyed it so much. The hotel is 6km from Knysna which suited us perfectly as it was a very tranquil setting, but it is something to consider if you want to be near to the hustle and bustle of Knysna. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the service was great.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nalonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Having stayed here for 4 nights, we didn't want leave!! Very friendly, helpful and good natured staff, especially Jeffrey. Ask him to show you the elephant tree just outside the hotel grounds. Our cottage was just lovely, spacious, spotless and just a stroll to the pub or restaurant for lovely meals. Hired the hotel boat for an afternoon on the lagoon which was peaceful and gave us a different view of Knysna from the water. Would definitely go back again. Liked the secluded location away from the busy centre of Knysna. All in all, a real winner.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth_J_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

If you want to stay in the Knysna Lagoon area this is the place for you.We were upgraded to a fantastic villa and the staff couldn't have been better.Fine dining, pub food or self catering the choice is up to you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Wonderful location, everything thought of in the rooms and more, lovely restaurant and pub. Ask Jeffrey to show you the Elephant Tree!
One of the best places we have ever stayed in many years of travelling.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
822 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
3.2 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvidere Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $133 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing