We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Knysna, highly recommend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belvidere Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belvidere Manor
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Knysna, highly recommend it”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My partner Sue and I stayed here in late March for two nights. First off, what a great view ! The Belvidere Manor Estate overlooks the lagoon and offers stunning views. We stayed in cottage number 2 and what a lovely place to stay. All the comforts of home, effectively your own house to stay in. Usefully the room is serviced every morning and fresh milk placed in the fridge for Tea and coffee, which is also provided.
Spacious bathroom with bath and shower . Spacious kitchen with small hob / oven if you wanted to eat in. Why on earth you would want to eat in though i don't know ! There is the most wonderful little Pub on site that serves the most delicious food. I had, possibly the best steak i have ever tasted at the pub, so i heartily recommend eating at the Pub. The fact that the restaurant is on site removes the problem of having to travel for your evening meal.
Breakfast was also equally delicious and we found ourselves skipping lunch, still full from our "full english" . The breakfast waiter was a most efficient chap with a great character.Super, fresh!
Knysna is a great stop over on the garden route , well placed for many attractions. We visited Monkey Land a free roaming monkey park and Tenwika a place to see big cat's up close. We also visited the Wilderness national park which is also worth a visit.
All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage number two , which was perfect for our needs. Eat at the Pub, it;s what the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    72
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
69
144
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in late December 2013. Our cottage (number 11) bordered the lawn in front of the hotel, with the pool about 25 metres away. The hotel, which is about a 15 min drive outside Knysna, is in a great location with a fantastic view over the lagoon.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms were great. Very clean and well appointed with everything you could possibly need. Breakfast was fantastic and our waiter at breakfast was superb. The hotel has a very English country hotel feel to it, and if that is your cup of tea you will enjoy this hotel. The hotel is kid friendly as well, with lots of open spaces for kids to run and play.
We were here on New Years' eve and before heading into town were treated to a concert by the local "Scottish" pipers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank esickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The setting is absolutely fabulous, individual cottages in a well established garden, thankfully separated from the somewhat frenetic overdeveloped Knysna village. The self-catering option is an absolute plus.
The only downside was the wi-fi. One pays a nominal amount to a provider - Always On...IF ONLY IT WAS!! By mid-afternoon and early evening, the signal is erratic and often non-existent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank TrustingSod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very comfortable self catering cottage with separate bedroom and living room, lovely outside terrace with comfortable seating. Great pool and great staff! The location has wonderful views of the lagoon




  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank RoLum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henley in arden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have just spent another great week in a lagoon cottage here as we have done for many years.
we find the cottage spacious and well cared for in a lovely location with many facilities and cleaned each day and the only real additional benefit would be air conditioning.
the staff are very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the buffet style breakfasts on the lovely patio.
our only query is the hotel continued insistence to charge for wifi.

Room Tip: choose a cottage on the lagoon side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michaeldufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Outstanding facility and wonderful staff! The food is outstanding and the elegant cottages are perfect for a family or couple looking for the best resort in South Africa. The location is excellent and you can do day trip or enjoy Knysna and the Garden Route

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Hi,
We had booked this hotel through a travel agent looking for family self-catering lodge so that we can enjoy our stay and do things at our pace. the most important thing for us was to use the dishwasher and washing machine as we have travelled far and would not want carry lots of clothes in luggage.
The stay was perfect. Accommodation impeccable.We had unit 27. Everything for a self catering unit with full kitchen was in place. There was a stark contrast to the beautiful residence that the dishwasher and washing machine were of cheap brand. Though the equipment was in place we were not allowed to use it. The reason given that the owner of the unit did not like other people using the equipment.
I was quite surprised by the response.
I cannot understand that if you advertise a fully equipped kitchen how can you not allow the guests to use the equipment?
If the owners deemed it fit to have the equipment installed for their own requirement how can they think that guests would not need it?
I would like to know the reason why the owners do not want the guests to use the kitchen equipment.
Do they think that we are not competent to handle a dishwasher and washing machine which we use in our daily life?!

The staff is excellent. The location is perfect. I would recommend this stay for perfect holiday in garden route. It is nearly in the centre of all possible destinations you can hope to travel in the eastern part of garden route. The small room for kids on the upstairs does not have fan and can get quite hot in evenings during summer.
regards
Sid

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 406sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
5.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.9 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvidere Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Property: Belvidere Manor
Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing