We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place, great service!”
Review of Belvidere Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvidere Manor
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed for two nights at the Belvidere Manor hotel as part of a tour of South Africa. The hotel is just great and highly recommended. It consists of several very nice chalets put in the shape of a horse shoe and facing the lagoon. Additional and bigger chalets are behind the main building that hosts the reception and the dining rooms. The average chalet has a big and really well furnished sitting room (even games like Monopoly are available in each room!), a very well furnished kitchen for those interested in self-catering, a big sleeping room and a very nice bathroom. Bedsheets are changed every day and everything is very clean. Service is very friendly.

Room Tip: choose one of the chalets in the front as they offer a great view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your positive review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 289 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for just 2 nights at Belvidere in a beautiful cottage. The cottage was lovely. Big and spacious and allowed us to relax halfway through our honeymoon. The cottage was for at least 6 people though there were only 2 of us! Our room was nice and cosy with a lovely on suite. We ordered room service but sadly didn't think that much of the dinner although breakfast was very nice and the staff very helpful. The village nearby was very picturesque too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatrionaMacPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Im sorry you were disappointed with your dinner. Our room service menu offers a small selection of lighter meals from our casual pub menu, and it was a pity you felt unable to eat in either of the restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Last month I attended a 5 day workshop, hosted at the Belvidere Manor. It was such a treat to stay on this beautiful estate. The food was incredible, buffet breakfast being a highlight. The staff was so welcoming and helpful, look out for Geoffry, he's such a delight, and will have you laughing every time you engage with him. The accommodation was really great, everything you could possibly need, and more. The estate is so peaceful, and beautifully kept. I'd definitely recommend it for both short and long stays. It's location is really convenient too, as it's very close to Knysna.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laskarina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

It was lovely to host your team for your workshop here at Belvidere Manor and thank you for this positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I booked a garden cottage for 2 days over the weekend. Everything was perfect; from the initial booking to arrival and all services. The cottage was clean with exquisite bedding, very comfortable and perfectly situated for Knysna and the lagoon. Very peaceful woken only by birds. The breakfast is excellent and do try the calamari at The Bell. Perfect all round.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you Hilary for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived here from our previous night at the De Kloof Luxury Estate in Swellendam. Having been here 10 years ago I knew what to expect. I wasn't disappointed. Our little manor house (cottage) could have slept 6 and was very cosy. We stayed 2 nights and booked a trip on the lagoon on the second day. We had considered an early morning trip to watch whales, but we don't do early mornings any more. When we sighted whales from our boat in the lagoon and they moved to within 100 meres of the boat, we were delighted. Both evening meals were taken at the Bell Inn, a short walk from our accommodation. we were delighted with the fare served up. Special mention must go to Geoffrey, the breakfast waiter and general help. Everything was 'number one' or 'super'. Only small gripe was the charge for Wi-Fi and laundry.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 125Victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

it was lovely to welcome you back to Belvidere Manor, especially after 10 years! I note your comments with regard to additional charges, and feel its reasonable to charge for your personal laundry, but we are looking at installing a new system to provide free wifi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our tour of the Garden Route & couldn't have chosen better. We had been on the go the previous 2 days (visiting Montagu & Oudsthoorn on the inland Route 62), & really needed somewhere to unwind - & this was the place. The cottage was lovely - it was one of the deluxe cottages facing the lagoon. It was spacious & well equipped & the bed was one of the most comfortable we'd slept in. It even had an electric blanket, which was an added bonus on the cold nights. The food also was very good, with lots of choice at breakfast. A special mention must go to Jeffrey, the waiter, who was always so attentive & cheerful. We also enjoyed a couple of meals at the Bell pub - lots of choice there & good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppycatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Poppycat London,
Thank you for your positive Trip Advisor review, and I'm pleased you enjoyed your time at Belvidere Manor. Jeff is a great ambassador for our property and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a quiet and peaceful location, about 5 miles outside Knysna. A little chilly and isolated in the winter, though. Our cottage (3 bedrooms) was spacious, but some rooms were better than others - the downstairs bedroom was cold and gloomy.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and excellent service from the "super" Jeffrey. It was hard to believe the Bell Inn was part of the same establishment because here the food was poor and service hopelessly slow and incompetent. After one dinner there we drove to Knysna every other evening to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear wcdw, I do regret that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay at Belvidere Manor, and that we were not able to discuss and review this together at the time. Unfortunately, August is a cold month here and we do our best to keep the cold out with the fireplace, heaters and electric blankets on the beds. My apologies for the quality of service at The Bell on the evening you dined in - we consistently get compliments both for our food, and our friendly staff, but I have addressed your comments with those on duty at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
3.2 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvidere Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $139 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing