We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our own Manor”
Review of Belvidere Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvidere Manor
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our own Manor”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived here from our previous night at the De Kloof Luxury Estate in Swellendam. Having been here 10 years ago I knew what to expect. I wasn't disappointed. Our little manor house (cottage) could have slept 6 and was very cosy. We stayed 2 nights and booked a trip on the lagoon on the second day. We had considered an early morning trip to watch whales, but we don't do early mornings any more. When we sighted whales from our boat in the lagoon and they moved to within 100 meres of the boat, we were delighted. Both evening meals were taken at the Bell Inn, a short walk from our accommodation. we were delighted with the fare served up. Special mention must go to Geoffrey, the breakfast waiter and general help. Everything was 'number one' or 'super'. Only small gripe was the charge for Wi-Fi and laundry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 125Victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
it was lovely to welcome you back to Belvidere Manor, especially after 10 years! I note your comments with regard to additional charges, and feel its reasonable to charge for your personal laundry, but we are looking at installing a new system to provide free wifi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    76
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
70
147
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our tour of the Garden Route & couldn't have chosen better. We had been on the go the previous 2 days (visiting Montagu & Oudsthoorn on the inland Route 62), & really needed somewhere to unwind - & this was the place. The cottage was lovely - it was one of the deluxe cottages facing the lagoon. It was spacious & well equipped & the bed was one of the most comfortable we'd slept in. It even had an electric blanket, which was an added bonus on the cold nights. The food also was very good, with lots of choice at breakfast. A special mention must go to Jeffrey, the waiter, who was always so attentive & cheerful. We also enjoyed a couple of meals at the Bell pub - lots of choice there & good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppycatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Poppycat London,
Thank you for your positive Trip Advisor review, and I'm pleased you enjoyed your time at Belvidere Manor. Jeff is a great ambassador for our property and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a quiet and peaceful location, about 5 miles outside Knysna. A little chilly and isolated in the winter, though. Our cottage (3 bedrooms) was spacious, but some rooms were better than others - the downstairs bedroom was cold and gloomy.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and excellent service from the "super" Jeffrey. It was hard to believe the Bell Inn was part of the same establishment because here the food was poor and service hopelessly slow and incompetent. After one dinner there we drove to Knysna every other evening to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear wcdw, I do regret that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay at Belvidere Manor, and that we were not able to discuss and review this together at the time. Unfortunately, August is a cold month here and we do our best to keep the cold out with the fireplace, heaters and electric blankets on the beds. My apologies for the quality of service at The Bell on the evening you dined in - we consistently get compliments both for our food, and our friendly staff, but I have addressed your comments with those on duty at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Belvidere Manor Hotel, a beautiful and peaceful location just outside Knysna. We were warmly welcomed by the ever friendly "soopa" man Jeffrey who showed us to our comfortable, tidy and well appointed garden cottage. We were so impressed by the genuine happiness, friendliness and excellant service from all of the staff which made our short stay so special. The meals served at the Bell pub and at the manor house were delicious as were the sumptious breakasts - amazing view over the lagoon. We have discovered another of South Africa's gems and will definately be back. Thanks to Sue and all her amazing friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wattsi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you, and I'm so pleased you had such a happy stay with us. Jeffrey is always a favourite, but we hope that all our staff reflect this friendly attitude. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited Belvidere Manor for tea and scones before heading on our long drive back to Cape Town. We sat and chatted to Sue, the owner, who is possibly the loveliest person I have ever met! We were served by the friendliest waiter, Jeffrey, who was constantly smiling and eager to please. After breakfast, Sue took us on a tour of the grounds. The little cottages are stunning and you can choose between lagoon or garden cottages. Either way, the setting is absolutely breathtaking with sloping lawns that lead straight down to the lagoon water!

Room Tip: The lagoon facing rooms are fantastic if you're looking for a good view, but they are close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ended a two-week trip with 3 nights at this lovely old hotel. Although it was Knysna Oyster Festival time, we were away from the "party" and could relax without the noise - yet we were close enough to join in the festivities when we wanted to do so. What struck us was the happiness of the staff, their friendliness and their quest to provide excellent service. The cottage was a delight and someone has thought of every detail - even umbrellas and a re-chargeable torch! The breakfast does not provide the widest choice imaginable, but what is provided is top quality and prepared to perfection. In my opinion, the best scones ever! We will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We felt very priviledged to get married in Belvidere. Belvidere Manor Hotel hosted our reception and most of our guests. We couldn't have chosen a better place. It's in an incredibly beautiful and peaceful location on Knysna lagoon. It's a wonderful hotel with lovely private garden cottages, pretty gardens and a stunning view. Sue was incredibly patient and helpful right from the start of planning our wedding until all was over. We both lead busy lives in London and Sue made the planning so much easier with good recommendations and calmly ensuring that all ran smoothly. Nothing seemed too much for her, Mike and all the staff at Belvidere Manor. We felt incredibly lucky and grateful to have so much support from them. Our guests were blown away by the location, the hotel and the friendly service. They are still talking about the fillet steak! The food was delicious at both the hotel and at The Bell. A hotel with the oldest pub in the area. Who could ask for more? Delicious breakfasts on the verandah were a good start to our days in Knysna. Belvidere Manor ensured that we had the most amazing wedding and that we and our guests were very well looked after. It was a very special time in an awesome place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
3.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
5.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvidere Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Property: Belvidere Manor
Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing