We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming country restaurant.”

Tottie's Farm Kitchen
Ranked #11 of 160 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming country restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

During our 3 day stay in Knysna, we ate at Totties's twice. Our first meal was breakfast and we were so impressed that we returned for lunch the following day and we were not disappointed! The restaurant is cosy and the service was prompt and friendly. They offer quality food at value for money prices and we are recommending them to everyone we know. The best thing about Tottie's is it's location. It is a short drive (about 15 minutes) from Knysna along a beautiful country road with lovely scenery. It is also only 5 minutes away from the entry gate to the Knysna Forest area, so after you have eaten it is a good idea to go for a walk (or a drive if you prefer) through the forest. What a lovely country outing - we will always return when we visit the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    57
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rustic country charmer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had been cooped up all week due to the bad weather in Knysna and needed to get out somewhere. My wife saw the advert for Tottie's and although we had heard of it but never been there decided we would give it a go. After a lovely drive out in the country the Tottie's sign appeared in front of a run down looking old farm building. Around the back a car guard showed us into a place and held the entrance gate open for us. What a pleasant surprise awaited us inside. A variety of very rustic benches, tables and chairs neatly arranged in the outside garden under trees and umbrellas. The owner Garth met us at the door and offered to show us all around the place before we chose to sit at a bench in the garden which by the way was bedecked with a lovely table cloth, place mats and cloth serviettes. A smiling waitress brought us menus and a wine list. A reasonable unpretentious wine list all all with surprisingly low prices. The menu was extensive and very interesting, Not many of the usual old boring things to choose from and everything once again at very reasonable prices. My wife ordered a sirloin steak with chips and salad and I ordered a venison pie with chips. Based on the prices we were pleasantly surprised when huge plates of beautifully presented food were brought to our table and even more surprised when everything looked so fresh and tasted absolutely wonderful. We will certainly be raving about this place to all our friends for some time to come. Oh, by the way there was also a very pleasant entertainer, Georgio, playing jazz and blues in the background! We will definitely be going back there soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalkieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Long time local, heard of Tottie's but never visited until recently and now my new favorite, favorite. Food was absolutely amazing. The presentation of the meals were just awesome. A meal for a family of three (Lamb Currie and Bobotie with home made chutney, bananas and all the trimmings, and a Cheese and Bacon toasted Sandwich for our son, including drinks, worked out to R135!!! Where do you get that these days? A true gem - I am recommending it to everyone and their cousins :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best value for money meal in Knysna.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is an experience worth enjoying. The food is excellent the setting beautiful and relaxing, the service first class and the bill doesn't break the bank. What a great pleasure and fun outing. You will definately see us again. Warm regards, Pete and Mart, Guinea Fowl Lodge, Knysna

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarthReenen, Owner at Tottie's Farm Kitchen, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Pete and Mart

Thank you for the fantastic comments! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Kindest regards
Garth and Marian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tottie's Farm Kitchen also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Tottie's Farm Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing