We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome rustic seafood lunch”

Freshline Fisheries
Ranked #3 of 163 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The most unique and affordable seafood restaurant in Knysna with one of the tastiest, fresh seafood menus in the Garden Route. You can choose exactly what style meal you want e.g. rice, salad or chips with your fish, prepared the way you like it: Grilled,Fried or Wes-Kus style. Not licensed so bring your own drinks (BYO) beer, wine etc. No Corkage :)
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome rustic seafood lunch”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It was a blistering hot summer's day and I wanted prawns and nothing else. My dining partner was very agreeable. Scrumptious. Recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThirstyTravellerMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    220
    43
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best seafood I've ever had”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went as a group of 17, and recieved excellent service. Their seafood was beyond compare and unbelievably well-priced. They don't sell alcohol but are very helpful in providing glasses and ice, as well as opening your bottles for no corkage fee. I had a platter for one, and everything on my plate was scrumptious. The kids played in their sand play area within sight from the tables and atmosphere speakers played golden oldies. They will definitely see us again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good :)”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were 7 people and booked for lunch on the 30th December. All the seafood were really, really sumptuous, ranging from mussels to calamari, kingklip and gurnard. A very informal set-up with a beach feeling. Our bill was only R531 because you can take your own cooler with drinks, making it very affordable. Making a reservation is essential, especially during high season.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Busy_Bee_0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ Bad attitude !!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I recently visited this establishment excited by its reviews. . Unfortunately we were met by a waitress with a seriously bad attitude who explained to us that they were fully booked, we were on our way out when pne of the patrons indicated that they were leaving and that we could use their table, seeing tlno waiting list, we approached the same waitress with the enquiry. Only to be ubruptly told that their kitchen closes at 8 and that they won't be able to assist. So not only are the waitress rude, the kitchen closes at 8? They treay there patrons as if they are a nuisance dont waste your time!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshlineFisheries, Owner at Freshline Fisheries, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear James v,
I was extremely upset to see the content of your review. I apologize most profusely for the manner in which my staff treated you. This is the first time I have ever had this type of response and I assure you it will be the last.
Please, if you are still in Knysna or you return at sometime I would be very grateful if you would give us another chance - on the house. Please feel free to contact me personally, or forward me your number so as I can apologize personally.
Regards
Ron Pocock
tel 0824476937
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

After accepting our dinner booking, we were called by the manager about 6 hours later (and 2 hours before the reservation time) to be told that they no longer have a booking for us. Feels like we were bumped in favour of a local or something equally fishy. They won't see us again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clivep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshlineFisheries, Owner at Freshline Fisheries, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Clivep 1,
I have seen your and James V`s review. I apologize for for my staffs behaviour and assure you that it has never happened before. I am sorry you had to experience this and appreciate your input so as to ensure nothing of this nature ever happens again.
Please contact me personally so that I can apologize, and invite you to please come again - on the house, so that we can show you that we pride ourselves as being one of the best.
Hoping for another chance.
Regards
Ron Pocock
tel 0824476937
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freshline Fisheries also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Freshline Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing