We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property”
Review of Pumula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pumula Lodge
Ranked #17 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

A very professionally run establishment. Everything we needed in the room. A lovely welcome, and loads of information about the area, and some useful recommendations. Never felt there was any query that could not be answered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David & Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 206 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the lodge for 1 night on 17th March. The rooms are fairly basic however the standard of the lodge was much higher than expected. The host is great, breakfast fab and the gardens gorgeous!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ClairePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently spent 3 nights here, and what a great place to rejuvenate and relax. Lovely big garden, with loads of bird life !!. Rooms are nice and basic, but really good value for a 3 star setting. What I enjoyed most about the lodge, was the Host !!. Rensia was a star, and really makes the place a home away from home !!.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capeguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was one of the nicest places we stayed on our trip around the garden route. Pieter and rensia made us so welcome. We so enjoyed the birds that were so tame in the garden and just everything about the stay was so special.
Thanks to all at the lodge(especially the ladies who did such a fab breakfast)
Roger and Ann

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank huntChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We enjoyed oru stay in this wonderful place.
Peter and Rensia are very friendly and helpful, even explaning and organising things for us. The breakfast was delicious and we used the pool quite often.
Thanks for a good time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A great stay. We have travelled for 3 weeks staying as we go and Pumula Lodge was an excellent choice. Rosina and peter are great hosts and assisted greatly with travel info and local bookings. They provide an excellent breakfast with a good selection of quality food and the lovely gardens and pool areas provide some lovely views, including lots of local birds. Will be back on our return route

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Pieter and Rensia Ellis provide a wonderful place to stay. It is outside the bustle of Knysna although just 5 mins from the Harbour side. The rooms and beds are spotlessly clean and Resina and her staff could not do enough for us. Eating a great Breakfast while looking out for the birds is a really stressful activity!! Finally they have a great swimming pool.
We look forward to seeing them again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wookeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#23 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
283 reviews
3 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#18 of 129 in Knysna
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#11 of 129 in Knysna
212 reviews
3 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#14 of 129 in Knysna
402 reviews
2.9 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumula Lodge

Address: 7 Lindsay Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $55 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pumula Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the town of Knysna and the famous Knysna Heads, lies Pumula Lodge - "the place of rest". The lodge, with its tranquil, parkland setting where nature lovers can enjoy the abundant bird life supported by the beautiful gardens. Over 100 species have been identified. Private entrances to en-suite bedrooms each with a patio overlooking the gardens and swimming pool. "Tree-top" breakfasts and secure undercover parking. Large covered barbecue facility. Close to golf courses, bird sanctuary and restaurants. Regret no children under 10. Master and Visa Credit cards. Non-smoking lodge. Wi-Fi. TGCSA - 4 Star B&B. Accredited with Knysna Tourism. Birder and Eco-Friendly Establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Pumula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing