We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$82
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$226
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse(Brenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pezula Hotel(Knysna)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Creek Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$45
$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$102
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$487
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveler rating
303
450
152
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
450
152
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknysna quaysgreat locationtwo double bedsheated poolmodern hoteldirect accessgarden routerestaurants and shopsbuffet breakfastsituated rightwater frontsecure parkingcape townwaterfront areacomfortable roomssouth africashort stay
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 947 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

I had a lovely suprise weekend to the Knysna Protea Hotel. From the management who organized the room, the room was lovely, and the waterfront view beautiful! Breakfast service was great!
Had a lovely weekend and willbdefnitaly be back!

One of my favorate hotels!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear GUEST

Thank you for reviewing the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I wish to assure you that I have congratulated my TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Situated on the waterfront, only a few minutes around the corner to a proliferation of attractive boutique retail shopping and a good number of really great restaurants where we had the opportunity to sample some of the top local seafoods (wild oysters - yum!) and excellent South African wines. Spent 2 nights stopover while on the popular Garden Route tour. Warmly received by Hotel staff, our room was clean and comfortable with all requirements. Some reservations about noise at night due to central location, but thanks to the double glazed windows we heard absolutely nothing. Very nice breakfast selection available ++. Knysna and the area offers a lot to Tourism. Would be happy to revisit and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear aussie1928

Thank you so much for this positive review on TripAdvisor. We hope you had a fantastic holiday in Knysna and the rest of South Africa?

We are delighted to receive your feedback and please be assure that I will share it with my TEAM. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated!

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We stayed here as part of a tour. It caters well for large groups. The hotel is very well located on the waterfront...the staff were friendly and efficient. The heated out door pool is a standout if you like a relaxing swim. Wifi a bit dodgy...frustrating after 10 minutes...otherwise thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Waterfront view
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beyond5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Beyond5th

Thank you for providing valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us, as it is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best Regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Its located right on harbour and everything is short walk
Do stay here aa its a quick walk on harbour front
Everything is convenient

This hotel has a good pool and good breakfast buffet

The staff at reception is helpful and especially mr collin is great ask for him



Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sushant1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Sushant1984

Thank you for taking the time to write this online review regarding your recent stay with us.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us. Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Good breakfast. Right on the lagoon. Shops and restaurants a minutes walk away. Rooms clean, modern, bright. Coffee and tea making facility in room. Safe in room and decent hair dryer. We had a partial lagoon view and would recommend getting a room with a view. Hotel does not do evening meals but so many other places to eat it's no problem at all. Loved it here.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Tracy W

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay with us.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best Regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews