We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tourist hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is very well situated in Knysna. Right on the lagoon, with views over the small craft harbour. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The staff were friendly, the breakfast is buffet style, and excellent. Rooms are modern, well equipped and comfortable. It was quite cold during our stay, and I found the aircon had only a cooling function, no heating. This hotel is very good value and quality for money. Would stay here again and recommend it. We stayed 2 nights and used it as a base to travel to the surrounding area. No kids activities though! Large, non-heated pool.

Room Tip: Get a lagoon facing room, the others face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Johan B,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

Further to your comments; fortunately our outdoor pool is heated and maintained at an average temperature of 30 degrees, daily. This is however affected on a day-to-day basis by the outside temperature and weather. With regards to the air conditioning units they do have a dual function of heating and cooling.

Nevertheless we trust you enjoyed your break in Knysna and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 872 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very nice location and hotel for the traveller that wants to relax after a long day. Walking distance to Waterfront and CBD with ample parking and very safe. Views on the heads and yachts makes it very special and unique.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Jannie S,

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we certainly value your positive feedback.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, as your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We strive to not only meet, but exceed all our GUESTS' expectations on a daily basis. Thank you for assisting us in striving towards excellence!

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

To our delight we had been upgraded to a lagoon view room on arrival, with a lovely view over the boats in the harbour. The location was great, and it was nice to be able to walk out the front door to find some lovely restaurants and shops rather than having to drive/take a taxi. The room was clean, comfortable and large (was it just me or was the toilet high?). We didn't swim in the pool, but I did dip a toe in on the way past and it felt very warm. Breakfast was great with lots of choice. Only small complaint was that it lacked a bit of atmosphere.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear kingfan,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments about the impressive service and facilities offered.

The reason for the toilet being slightly higher than usual, is due to the fact that the room that you stayed in, is our Lagoon Universal Access room. This room type is actually build for our disabled GUESTS that are wheelchair bound, but are perfectly suited for our able GUESTS as well.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

It always feels like returning home when walking through the doors of the Knysna Quays Hotel. Staff are very polite and friendly. The hotel rooms are lovely with a great view of the Knysna Lagoon and the crisp white linen is the best. Love the location of the hotel with the Knysna Waterfront right outside the front door and the Featherbed boat company a short walk from the hotel. The bathrooms are very clean and new with a separate bath and shower and rooms have 2 double beds. Due to the surrounding fern & woodlands, the water supply to Knysna is coloured by the root-system to a brownish colour. It is perfectly fine to drink, but I can imagine that this would put some visiting foreign clients off. I would suggest that the hotel provide the room with bottled drinking water (whether complimentary or at a charge). Breakfast is fantastic - croissants are a must! Love the PH Knysna Quays and will always be coming back! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lagoon view. Try the croissants at breakfast - they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Mari B,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review after your recent stay with us. We assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve our service standards and facilities, where necessary.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about our impressive hotel and services offered. It warms our hearts when we know that we have not only met our GUESTS expectations, but we have exceeded them! Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Returned to Protea Knysna Quays for a 2 nts stay with family of 4. Lovely lagoon facing twin rooms with 2 large double beds in each room. Breakfasts great variety and choices. Be careful of the recycled water as it sometimes comes out pale brown ! Free wireless connection is available in all rooms at good strengths. Great location for the Quay restaurants and still one of the best hotels in Knysna

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruvs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear SadieSteytler,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you completed during your stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

Please know that it was our pleasure to accommodate you. Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us, as we strive to ensure that our GUESTS, receive the best service from our TEAM.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again, in the near future!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed 3 nights out of our 4 so far and have had a wonderful stay. Our room is clean and spacious with an amazing view of the lagoon. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we are sad to leave tomorrow. We will definitely be back again. Wonderful hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SadieSteytler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear SadieSteytler,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you completed during your stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

Please know that it was our pleasure to accommodate you. Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us, as we strive to ensure that our GUESTS, receive the best service from our TEAM.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again, in the near future!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel has a very nice location. Our room was facing the lagoon and during the morning, while trying to catch the sunrise, I would look out and see what's in store for me. On one side the stillness of water and yachts.. on the other, a flock of birds bringing life as they dive into the water to take their bath. It was a beautiful sight. Besides the view, what I also liked about this hotel is that it is very near the shopping and dining establishments. To get to the shops, you turn right from the entrance of the hotel. For restaurants, it will be nearer if you take the back exit/swimming pool area door.

Knowing that this is a 4-star hotel, I did not expect much (from the room and food). Cleanliness, however, was a big issue for me. Our toilet bowl was not cleaned well. Let's just say that the previous occupant of the room has left his/her 'markings'. I don't think the housekeeping brushed and cleaned our toilet bowl and I noticed that they do not have a toilet brush in our bathroom. Normally in other hotels I stayed in, each bathroom has its own toilet brush. This is the first time I encountered a dirty toilet bowl. I hope they do something about it.

Other than the cleanliness issue, this hotel is okay to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Miss_Biik,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

I would therefore like to thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve our service standards and facilities, where necessary.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort you experienced as a result of your bathroom's cleanliness. Kindly be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant Management and STAFF. I can assure you that this is not the standard that we strive to achieve on a daily basis.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#9 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $128 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing