We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of the best hotels in Knysna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still one of the best hotels in Knysna”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Returned to Protea Knysna Quays for a 2 nts stay with family of 4. Lovely lagoon facing twin rooms with 2 large double beds in each room. Breakfasts great variety and choices. Be careful of the recycled water as it sometimes comes out pale brown ! Free wireless connection is available in all rooms at good strengths. Great location for the Quay restaurants and still one of the best hotels in Knysna

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruvs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear SadieSteytler,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you completed during your stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

Please know that it was our pleasure to accommodate you. Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us, as we strive to ensure that our GUESTS, receive the best service from our TEAM.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again, in the near future!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    395
    135
    19
    18
See reviews for
195
393
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed 3 nights out of our 4 so far and have had a wonderful stay. Our room is clean and spacious with an amazing view of the lagoon. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we are sad to leave tomorrow. We will definitely be back again. Wonderful hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SadieSteytler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear SadieSteytler,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you completed during your stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

Please know that it was our pleasure to accommodate you. Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us, as we strive to ensure that our GUESTS, receive the best service from our TEAM.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again, in the near future!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel has a very nice location. Our room was facing the lagoon and during the morning, while trying to catch the sunrise, I would look out and see what's in store for me. On one side the stillness of water and yachts.. on the other, a flock of birds bringing life as they dive into the water to take their bath. It was a beautiful sight. Besides the view, what I also liked about this hotel is that it is very near the shopping and dining establishments. To get to the shops, you turn right from the entrance of the hotel. For restaurants, it will be nearer if you take the back exit/swimming pool area door.

Knowing that this is a 4-star hotel, I did not expect much (from the room and food). Cleanliness, however, was a big issue for me. Our toilet bowl was not cleaned well. Let's just say that the previous occupant of the room has left his/her 'markings'. I don't think the housekeeping brushed and cleaned our toilet bowl and I noticed that they do not have a toilet brush in our bathroom. Normally in other hotels I stayed in, each bathroom has its own toilet brush. This is the first time I encountered a dirty toilet bowl. I hope they do something about it.

Other than the cleanliness issue, this hotel is okay to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Miss_Biik,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

I would therefore like to thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve our service standards and facilities, where necessary.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort you experienced as a result of your bathroom's cleanliness. Kindly be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant Management and STAFF. I can assure you that this is not the standard that we strive to achieve on a daily basis.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

many return visits to this superbly situated hotel in the lively town of Knysna and we had our favourite room 206 by making an early booking
the usual warm welcome was forthcoming as anticipated and our beautiful room was ready even though we arrived early

breakfasts if not included are well worth funding and the free newspapers and reliable internet connections are a bonus

we hold a ProKard and Protea Hotels are usually on our itineraries but we consider the Knysna Protea to be our No. 1

delightful visit that whizzed by
make us a sensational offer for march 2015, Marietjies and we`ll be there like a shot

many thanks everybody
Dr Mrs Brian Silverstone

Room Tip: do not ask for room 206 in early march `cos we want it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilBRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear marilBRIAN,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor comment that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate Marietjie, whom you commended for her exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberwil-Lieli, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and I passed this hotel on our self-drive honeymoon through the Garden Route and enquired about a room for the night. We were shown 2 rooms and decided on the cheaper one as we wouldn't spend much time in our room anyway. We straight away received an upgrade to a nice room with balcony overlooking the quay.
The room itself was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. It has all the amenities you need for a short stay and we had a good sleep here. Although being on the waterfront it is quiet and there are no people passing by at night. The service is good, there is (paid) parking on site, which is also nice as you want to have guaranteed parking in this busy and touristy area of the town.
It is a very short walk to the place where everything is happening in Knysna and about 10 minutes to the mall, so the location is excellent.
Only downside was breakfast, although plenty of choice, there wasn't much to our liking and there were also big groups there pushing people aside.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear ddoron,

Meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and personalised service. Your comment's, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve our standard of service and facilities, where needed.

I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your recent stay with us. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive services and facilities offered. We apologise for the inconvenient breakfast that you experienced.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A modern, clean hotel with views over the estuary. Lacked a little bit of personality and the Barman could do with showing a smile but perfectly adequate for visiting the area and very convenient for wandering around the restaurants and shop of the little waterfront area.

Room Tip: Estuary view is much to be preferred. Other side has views over the railway line initially although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_staddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear michael_staddon,

Meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and approve our standards of service and facilities, where necessary.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not receiving the friendly and personalised service in our bar area. Your experience of the service received most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is proud to offer. I can confirm that you concerns have been addressed with the relevant STAFF member and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.

Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism as it is necessary for us know how our GUESTS would rate their experiences, as well as our services and facilities.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again in the near future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Been 2 nights now, room nice & spacious, fantastic view over the quays, breakfast nice and service v/g , but it lacks athsphmore, tourists galore, but nothing to do in the hotel, bar like a morgue,have to go out for food & ale:

Room Tip: Book a room with lagoon view :
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarrum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear yarrum47,

Thank you for taking the time to post your additional comments on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We apologise that we could not meet all of your GUEST expectations, but we should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again in the near future.

Assuring you of our best service and personal attention at all times!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing