We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Spent 2 nights here whilst travelling on the garden route. This modern hotel is located on the busy quayside which is very convenient for the shops and activities here but means that you need to walk a little to see the rest of the town. Breakfast is served in the hotel but you need to go out for dinner - which isn't a problem given the number of restaurants around.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maybeormaybenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Maybeormaybenot,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor comment that you posted after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at our wonderful property.

It was our utmost pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 842 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed one night in this hotel in the past and driving up from Cape Town where we stayed in another Protea. I was hoping the hotel was as good as I remembered and I wasn't disappointed. All the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. When we got to the room we were completely surprised to find a bottle of beautiful wine from Tangled Tree and shortbread. What an amazing surprise that I just had to tweet about it!!!!!! Breakfast was lovely and kept us going until dinner. Julius on the bar makes the best cocktails (quay cruise) and nothing was too much trouble for staff. The location is brilliant. JJ's do a good meal. You must visit Knysna Elephants, Monkeyland and Birds of Eden if you like animals. Thank you Protea Knysna Quay for a lovely stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ChezUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear ChezUK25

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor comment during your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Not the worst hotel in the world. Maybe I'm being unfair as I've came here from 5* hotels. Clean. Friendly enough. Average breakfast.
Lovely location and 1 minute walk from the first of 10 or so bars and restaurants nearby.
Does what it says on the tin really...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear JKC999,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotels again in the near future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

After arriving late one night, being sent away from the hotel parking because it was full (there is a p just opposite the road), learning that there is no restaurant in the hotel (however there are several affiliated ones on the waterfront, just in front of the hotel) and getting into our room which was small and did not have an appropriate closet for travelers on a two-week trip, we were not too enthusiastic.

However: the friendliness of the staff more than equals out any inconvenience of a somewhat narrow room. From check-in to breakfast room to room service, we were pampered by the staff. Everybody seemed to care for the guests. If you want to feel good - this hotel is your choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Marcel M,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the recent TripAdvisor review that you completed after your stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Reasonably priced rooms in a great location in the heart of the Knysna waterfront. The kids love the heated pool. The staff are exceptionally friendly and efficient. The breakfast is first class with a great buffet selection.

Overall a great hotel. My only suggestion for an improvement is to set up a kids games room with table tennis, games etc. Lots of kids around - that would work wonders.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear jimiti,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job! We appreciate you for helping us strive towards excellence.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayes here in January for a week with 13 others of my family. The staff were incredible and made our stay amazing. The location in superb and the outlook onto the marina is hard to beat. We loved the hotel and it's value for money is fantastic. Would definitely go back. !!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHeilig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear CHeilig,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed her 18th and 19th December 2013 Brilliant location and we had a lovely room overlooking the lagoon. When we arrived we were told the room wasn't ready yet and to come back at 2, we went back at 2.30 and the room they had originally given us was still not ready so they gave us another room so not a problem. It was a lovely place but very busy when we were there. I know it was nothing but I was surprised that we had to pay parking even though we were guests. The breakfast was lovely but it was in a very noisy crowded dining room and we were seated in a really crowded area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennynorthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Jennynorthwales,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor comment after your recent stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive location, as we truly believe that we have the best location in Knysna.

We apologise if any inconvenience caused during your stay. Unfortunately during December months, our hotel accommodates a larger amount of GUESTS than usual, as it is our peak season.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
821 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.7 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $117 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing