We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a sports tour. A very nice location with the Waterfront just behind the hotel. It is equipped with a nice swimming pool. Check in was smooth and easy, rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and there was a wide selection. Overall, the hotel and service was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atiwary389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear atiwary389

Thank you for completing this review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

We were delighted to receive your feedback about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

We agree with your comment, the Waterfront makes for the perfect backdrop and the location is easily accessible to all major activities and attractions.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa!

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    377
    128
    18
    17
See reviews for
179
369
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The stay at this hotel will always be cherished, wonderful location, excellent spread of breakfast, friendly staff. However the pool needs more cleaning...but nevertheless the stay was was comfortable overlooking the harbour.
we would definitely recommend our Indian friends and relatives to visit this property when in South Africa... Big thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Nisha N

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us, it is much appreciated! We are delighted to receive your feedback and we have noted your comments regarding the pool – we are monitoring the quality of the water very closely.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were allocated a smoking room overlooking the car park, even though we had specifically requested a non smoking room. However the reception staff were more than helpful and upgraded us to a room overlooking the marina. Good location and although the restaurants beside the hotel are a bit pricey, if you walk into the town you will get excellent value for money. Also try and visit Wilderness, about 30 minutes away. It is stunningly beautiful!!

Room Tip: Try and get a marina facing room, otherwise you are stuck with a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear George M,

Thank you for completing a online GUEST review after your recent stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by giving you a smoking room, even when a non-smoking room was requested.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, therefore, should you wish to help us strive towards excellence, please feel free to contact me directly for a detailed report of 'what we could do better', in order to meet & exceed your expectations with your next stay with us.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Located right at the waterfront, the hotel is designed to look like a ship. Our room was spacious and overlooked a small shopping area. There were a lot of restaurants next to the hotel. Breakfast was alright. Overall there was nothing to complain about but at the same time there was nothing to rave about either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear brianonthego,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I thought the biggest plus of this hotel is the perfect location at the Knysna Waterfront but I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent breakfast, a very helpful staff at reception, big TV channel selection and a clean room. Only downside at my room was the noise since it was located close to some (probably) washing machines. Will be back..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JogM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear JogM M,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete an online GUEST review after your recent stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve our service standards and facilities, where necessary.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered by our reception STAFF - I will certainly congratulate our TEAM for doing such a great job!

We apologise for the inconvenience caused as per the noise that you mentioned. Kindly inform our reservationists about this room when making your next booking, in order to avoid allocating you in that room again.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel is great place to base yourself mid route. Rooms are clean comfortable and the staff helpful and there is good secure parking.
Breakfast menu is good and the hotel is near some excellent restuarants for evening meals.
Swimming Pool in the spring is good as they heat this in the summer months this would not be needed. You need a room overlooking the bay as the inside facing rooms do look a bit souless. Views from our room however were stunning.

Room Tip: In the summer months I think the breakfast restuarant would find it difficult to cope. I would sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Chris W,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance/queries you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again and to be hearing from you soon again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed overnight in lagoon facing room 209 overlooking the lagoon & marina.
Rooms are spacious with everything you need & well maintained.
Excellent breakfast buffet with wide variety, probably one of the best breakfast selections I have experienced along the Garden Route.
Very friendly & attentative staff who makes you feel welcome & at home.

Room Tip: Go for lagoon facing if you can. Non lagoon facing rooms with same amenities, however, facing parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Miriam C,

Thank you very much for posting a TripAdvisor comment after your recent stay with us here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, our service standards and facilities, where necessary.

GUESTS', as well as our CLIENT's perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

Miriam, we were delighted to receive your expert commendations about the impressive service offered - Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.7 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing