We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple Modern Hotel beside the Marina” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Simple Modern Hotel beside the Marina”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a couple of nights in this hotel on our drive along the Garden Route. The hotel is well located and has an attractive view as long as you ensure you book a marina view room. The other side appears to look out over the car park. There is no doubt this hotel is good value for money even by South African standards where everything appears inexpensive. The rooms were large with 2 double beds as well as free Wi-Fi, a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a safe. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean though the heating / air con unit took a bit of working out! We had two interconnecting rooms but you could easily accommodate a family in just one of them. The hotel does rather lack character being fairly modern with a glass and metalwork atrium forming the foyer. It is probably similar to the ‘Holiday Inn Express’ or 'Premier Inn’ type of hotel. There is a small pool which is heated and there were youths (Brits obviously) swimming quite late! There is also direct access through the back of the hotel to the waterfront and marina.

When we stayed in July (winter) the hotel was not fully open really as there were no evening or lunchtime meals served and the bar seemed pretty much closed. It appeared to be mainly occupied by parties of senior school children from the UK on various sports tours (rugby, hockey, basketball) and these could be somewhat noisy. They were however well behaved and quietened down by midnight. Obviously just high spirits of youth but could have been annoying as the rooms are not very sound proof.

Breakfast was generous with everything you could want including an omelette chef! The food was of adequate quality here and eaten very quickly by the hefty lads on the rugby teams.

Unlike everywhere else we visited in South Africa the staff in this hotel seemed fairly indifferent and bored and generally not very friendly. Perhaps a reflection of their "school kids" customer base in July.

The Quays was a lovely place but very quiet when we were there though we could see it would be a hive of activity in the high season. There were some pleasant restaurants although strangely there are no bars? Generally they seemed rather over priced by South African standards presumably because of the location. JJ’s was possibly the most expensive place we ate in during our holiday in South Africa and although it was very nice it was certainly not the best food we’ve had! There was really not a lot to do in Knysna in the wintertime and although we enjoyed a couple of days there it is not somewhere we would want to return to. It’s a bit of a one horse town and unfortunately in the winter the horse goes away on holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pophammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear pophammy,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

We would, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience which you experienced throughout your stay regarding the noise, but it is unfortunately something beyond our control when accommodating big, touring groups.

The waterfront in Knysna mostly consists of shops and restaurants. If you are in search of the nightlife of Knysna, you will find places mostly located in the Main Road, only 1.3 km from the hotel.

I can assure you, should you stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again in the future, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality!

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    377
    128
    18
    17
See reviews for
179
369
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is very pleasant and with a nice view and ideal location near the restaurants. Nothing much else to say about the place, but it appears there is a 200 character minimum in reviews so hopefully I've made it now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear gdn101,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and It was our pleasure to accommodate you.

Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
178 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

.This is a very good hotel right on the waters edge of Knysna Quays. The location is excellent, the food ample and well cooked and the staff are excellent. The only drawback is the noise and lack of insulation between rooms. This seems to be a failing of Protea hotels as we recently had the same problem in Port Elizabeth. Here it was even worse. Children running along corridors late at night, doors banging, people including staff shouting. One poor guest was very ill and we heard every nauseating detail for several hours. Then the start of numerous alarm clocks from five onwards. This is just not acceptable! On our second night it was almost as bad but this time no sickness - thank goodness. Great hotel but would not choose to stay here again without earplugs!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs or choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Deat Bill T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete an online GUEST review after your recent stay with us.

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations, therefore I would like to apologise for the amount of noise that you have experienced during your stay with us.

I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities and as far as the STAFF-shouting concern, it has been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

When accommodating big/International groups, the hotel intends to be much noisier than usual. Unfortunately it's something we currently cannot control.

The inconvenience which you experienced throughout your stay is most definitely not the standard we strive to achieve.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is brilliantly located next to the Knysna Waterfront with its restaurants, bars and shops as well as being an easy stroll into the pleasant town itself.

The rooms were excellent and comfortable and well furnished and offered excellent views of the waterfront and the lagoon. The breakfast selection was good and having freshly made pancakes was a real treat! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the watefront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Martia_C,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding our buffet breakfast and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays once again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

There is nothing particularly special about the Protea, other than its location. It is right on the waterfront. The views are excellent. The staff are great. I forgot one of my jackets in the bar, the next day when we asked for it they had kept it safe for me, which I really didn't expect. The breakfast is very nice too. The lady making the eggs does them very well. On the whole it was a very enjoyable stay, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Knysna. The choice of restaurants within walking distance is brilliant, although once we had been to JJ's we didn't need to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms above first floor seemed to have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattbradney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Mattbradney,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Protea Knysna Quays was one of three Protea hotels we staying in South Africa and it was the certainly the best. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable and the buffet breakfast was amazing. We had a family suite with two double beds (very comfortable) and a large bathroom with separate tub and shower. It rained while we were there and they loaned us umbrellas for our short walk to dinner on the waterfront. Several good varied restaurants within 5 minute walk. This made a great base for us in touring the little Karoo and Tsitsikamma forest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lagoon for amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reneeroemmele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear reneeroemmele,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an online GUEST review after your recent stay here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. We would like to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered.

Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This impressive hotel has a modern, functional hotel with a nautical theme. It offers comfortable accommodation. Our bathroom had a shower only. They offer free Wifi in room. There is good access to the Waterfront- right beside it. Great breakfast buffet with massive range of choices.

Room Tip: We had a non-lagoon facing double room which was lovely, but a lagoon facing room would be even nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Belinda R,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Kindly note that all of our rooms throughout the hotel are equiped with a seperate bath and shower. Should you want us to investigate the matter.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.7 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing