We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Only one night here during our tour, and found the location good. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a room with a lovely view of the lagoon and marina, large and well furnished. The staff were all efficient and pleasant, and the breakfast, with all the usual buffet items but eggs cooked fresh to order in any way you wanted, was very good. There are lots of shops and restaurants around the marina. We ate at JJ's and the meal was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pob-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Pob-Bob

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the GUEST comment card that you completed during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 842 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location on the water front / boat harbour. Within the same precinct are lots of shops and restaurants specifically catering for the tourist trade. I am told that Knysna is South Africa's most popular holiday destination for South Africans.
The hotel is also about five minutes from Knysna's shopping district where you will find more shops, supermarkets, outdoor markets and restaurants.
Our bedroom was on the wrong side of the hotel i.e. overlooking the car park, not the waterfront. The room was modern and very nicely decorated and furnished, but was small. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided and an in-room safe. The detracting feature of the room is the in room air-conditioner, which was very noisy. We had to turn it off and open the sliding glass window (no noise at night to disturb our sleep).
The hotel's restaurant doesn't cater for dining except breakfast, but there are any number of restaurants very close to the hotel. The breakfast buffet was quite good. There is a separate bar and cafe leading to the outdoor pool area - slow service, whic seems to be the norm in South African hotels.
There is free Wi Fi (200 mb limit) but almost impossible to connect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterfront. You may have to pay a premium unless they are not busy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Aussie-Traveller3121,

Thank you very much for completing an online GUEST review after your recent stay with us here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We apologise if we could not meet your FULL expectations during your stay. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in a lagoon and pool facing room! Wow it's indeed a beauty!! The pool here is temperature controlled and it's a sheer delight to swim!!

The room had a bar of chocolate, juice and cheese pop corns kept for our kid! It's a warm and welcome surprise!

Nice .. neat place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Qrio,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete and online GUEST review after your recent stay with us.

We would like to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here last week for a quick 1-nighter en-route to Port Elizabeth. This was one of 5 Protea hotels that we stayed in between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth - and location and value-wise, the best. I'm shocked that this hotel is in the same price bracket as other Protea hotels - Stellenbosch and Mossel Bay for instance - when the location of this hotel is unbeatable.

Was our first visit to Knysna and loved it. It's like a mini Cape Town Waterfront and the Italian restaurant (the name escapes me now!) was a real highlight.

The hotel has a sort of nautical theme and is very light and airy. The room was large and well equipped and the wi-fi worked well. Staff were all very pleasant and friendly and the older lady who cooks the eggs at breakfast time was particularly lovely.

My only (tiny!) niggle was with a bit of hassel from the ladies who were sitting opposite the hotel entrance trying to flog their wares. I understand that this is their livelihood but a no really should mean a no. Being followed to the car (albeit the ladies were on the other side of the fence), having numerous table cloths and coaster sets waved through the railings was a bit of a pain but otherwise, I can't complain about the hotel at all. A good nights sleep was had and breakfast was lovely - what else do you need on a 1 night stay?

Oh 1 other recommendation - I wouldn't bother doing a trip on the John Benn boat from the waterfront - we did the sunset cruise and it was more like a 90 minute booze cruise than anything else!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deano76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear deano76,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete on online GUEST review after your recent stay here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Qauys and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

several most enjoyable visits to this Protea --yes the one with the great location at Knysna waterfront and we were rewarded with a room upgrade on arrival (Prokard may have helped).
our room no.260 was absolutely superb with a large pool side terrace and you get a free newspaper and free internet . breakfast is fine and the staff are brilliantly led by the marvellous Mariatjies Theron and ably supported by Lucrezia, Chardonnay et al
have booked for a week next feb and will attempt to shmooze the same room.
.restaurants at the waterfront are not of a particularly high quality for RSA but there is an atmosphere here. 2 mins. opposite the hotel is a wonderful little family restaurant which goes under the name of Chatters and is recommended for good quality, inexpensive grub suggest you give it a go
Maril & Brian Silverstone (MJTravel uk) London

Room Tip: the terrace rooms (258, 259 or 260) are exceptional but in great demand
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilBRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear marilBRIAN,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST review and to give additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Marietjie, Lucretia & Chardonnay in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again soon.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location, but is not a new place. Staff was friendly and helpful. Free wifi, but works well only at the lobby. Rooms are good, a little bit small and clean. If you are not with a car, it's perfect, in front of the harbour and near of the Grey Street and Main Road, where you can find everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear claudiompareja,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete an online GUEST review after your recent stay with us here at Protea hotel Knysna Quays.

We apologise for the inconvieniece that we might have caused you with the poor Wi-Fi connection, but it has been addressed to the neccesary departments.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their friendly service.

Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us and please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights en route from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth. Our rooms were small and overlooked the carpark at the rear of the building - be sure to request waterfront views when booking! The WiFi was intermittent and the reception staff somewhat disinterested. The general ambience of the hotel was very good and the breakfast was certainly acceptable. Nearby shops and restaurants were excellent and complimented the good location.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a waterfront view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JhhDjh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear JhhDjh_88,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete an online GUEST review of Protea Hotel Knynsa Quays.

We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is viewed in a serious light.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. Your experience of the service delivery of our reception STAFF most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is usually proud to offer.

I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us.

Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.7 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $117 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing