We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Garden Route, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Excellent Location”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant weekend getaway at this hotel which we chose for it's convenient location, reviews on this website helped in the decision. We weren't disappointed, our room, which overlooked the pool and lagoon, had a private balcony which was a perfect spot to enjoy a sundowner, efficiently supplied by room service. The hotel restaurant only serves breakfast, which is a buffet, very good with a wide choice. A number of excellent restaurants are within walking distance for dinner or lunch and if a greater variety is desired, the town centre and Thesen's Island are a short drive away.

The room itself was comfortable, the air conditioner was really loud though, like it was running at full blast even at it's lowest fan setting, maybe it's supposed to be that way? Staff that we encountered were all friendly and efficient.

If I had a criticism it would be that additional staff are needed at breakfast to clear the tables, used dishes and bowls remained on the table for the duration of the meal. Having to pay for parking also seems very strange to me, I've not encountered this at any other hotel that I've visited!

Overall it was a great stay, I would return.

Room Tip: Try and get a lagoon facing room or one overlooking the pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Chris C

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review and to write down your additional feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated the TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

Your feedback regarding the breakfast service by no means reflects the high standard of service that Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that I have also investigated your comments and discussed with the Food and Beverage Manager.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    392
    134
    19
    18
See reviews for
192
389
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is one of the better Protea hotels we have stayed at. As is usual, the rooms and service are good. We stayed early January and the room rate was quite reasonable compared to the many other hotels and resorts in Knysna who massively inflate their prices over the peak season.

What sets this hotel apart from others is the location. You can walk out of the hotel directly into the Knysna waterfront with it's shops, hotels, boat trips and many restaurants.

The only possible complaint was that the pool wasn't the sparkling blue that it should be. Other than that, if you want a reasonable price stay in the main tourist area of Knysna, I don't think you can beat this option.

Room Tip: ask for a marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear jimiti

Warm greetings from Knysna!

Thank you for completing an online review after your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

From all of us at the Quays, thanks again.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Protea Hotel, Knysna Quays for two nights in a lagoon facing family room. A great hotel in a great location. Rooms and grounds are well maintained and staff are friendly. A bit of congestion at breakfast with long queues, nevertheless we had a marvellous stay. This is definitely our favourite Protea Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craighindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear craighindley

Thank you for completing an online review following your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their excellent service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
649 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

African Trax our lovely tour guides Lisa and Louise booked this nice Hotel for us on the waterfront at Knysna. Our rooms had two double beds and lovely views over the harbour and lagoon. Reception were faultless and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit yoghurt and nuts, cereal or the whole works. Swimming pool more for a quick dip than lounging as quite small but the location of hotel makes up for this. Nice rooms and excellent location make this an hotel to return to. The beds are just made to sink in.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear shish57

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after you recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their excellent service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.
We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays in the near future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We used the Protest for two nights as a base to tour the garden route. The facility is situated right next to the quay which was very convenient. All restaurants were close by. The hotel staff were courteous. The rooms were OK. The shower was less than brilliant,but functional.
Breakfast was excellent. parking was close, free and quite secure..A free computer is available for the guests. The wifi is free but the arrangements are cumbersome..
Overall - we felt the hotel was a very good choice for people visiting Knysna and wishing to be near the waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoram_Shimoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Yoram_Shimoni

Warm greetings from the heart of the Garden Route!

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the most beautiful Protea Hotel of them all! We were lucky enough to stay at the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays for 2 nights during our recent visit to Knynsa in December.

Our room was absolutely gorgeous, we had a lagoon facing room and enjoyed watching the sun set and rise from our little balcony. It was postcard beautiful.

The room was very specious, clean and so well decorated. The bathroom was also very very clean and comfortable.

The best part about our stay was to just walk out of the hotel and into the waterfront where we could shop and have a wide variety of restaurants to choose from.

The pool area was lovely, and having the bar just on the other side had us relaxing there for a while.

With me being a Travel Agent, I would highly recommend this gorgeous hotel to anyone from corporate travellers, honeymooners and families.

The service was 5 star, from the porters to the reception, all had smiles on their faces.

This stay was the first of the holiday and made it just that extra special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Gabby V

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated the TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again soon.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Make sure you book a Massage with Penny. She has healing hands.....and can share the going ons in Knysna. Though the room we got was a bit small for a family, it was comfortable and neat. Very good breakfast. At the price we paid for family of 3, it was definitely value for money. Will certainly stay there again...

Room Tip: Ask for the Lagoon-side rooms on the top floor. You can watch the sun set from your room. When it ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteMoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear CharlotteMoko

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate Penny for her outstanding service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing