We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Protea Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favourite Protea Hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Protea Hotel, Knysna Quays for two nights in a lagoon facing family room. A great hotel in a great location. Rooms and grounds are well maintained and staff are friendly. A bit of congestion at breakfast with long queues, nevertheless we had a marvellous stay. This is definitely our favourite Protea Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craighindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear craighindley

Thank you for completing an online review following your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their excellent service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    395
    135
    19
    18
See reviews for
195
393
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

African Trax our lovely tour guides Lisa and Louise booked this nice Hotel for us on the waterfront at Knysna. Our rooms had two double beds and lovely views over the harbour and lagoon. Reception were faultless and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit yoghurt and nuts, cereal or the whole works. Swimming pool more for a quick dip than lounging as quite small but the location of hotel makes up for this. Nice rooms and excellent location make this an hotel to return to. The beds are just made to sink in.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear shish57

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after you recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their excellent service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.
We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays in the near future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We used the Protest for two nights as a base to tour the garden route. The facility is situated right next to the quay which was very convenient. All restaurants were close by. The hotel staff were courteous. The rooms were OK. The shower was less than brilliant,but functional.
Breakfast was excellent. parking was close, free and quite secure..A free computer is available for the guests. The wifi is free but the arrangements are cumbersome..
Overall - we felt the hotel was a very good choice for people visiting Knysna and wishing to be near the waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoram_Shimoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Yoram_Shimoni

Warm greetings from the heart of the Garden Route!

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the most beautiful Protea Hotel of them all! We were lucky enough to stay at the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays for 2 nights during our recent visit to Knynsa in December.

Our room was absolutely gorgeous, we had a lagoon facing room and enjoyed watching the sun set and rise from our little balcony. It was postcard beautiful.

The room was very specious, clean and so well decorated. The bathroom was also very very clean and comfortable.

The best part about our stay was to just walk out of the hotel and into the waterfront where we could shop and have a wide variety of restaurants to choose from.

The pool area was lovely, and having the bar just on the other side had us relaxing there for a while.

With me being a Travel Agent, I would highly recommend this gorgeous hotel to anyone from corporate travellers, honeymooners and families.

The service was 5 star, from the porters to the reception, all had smiles on their faces.

This stay was the first of the holiday and made it just that extra special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Gabby V

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated the TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again soon.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Make sure you book a Massage with Penny. She has healing hands.....and can share the going ons in Knysna. Though the room we got was a bit small for a family, it was comfortable and neat. Very good breakfast. At the price we paid for family of 3, it was definitely value for money. Will certainly stay there again...

Room Tip: Ask for the Lagoon-side rooms on the top floor. You can watch the sun set from your room. When it ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteMoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear CharlotteMoko

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate Penny for her outstanding service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Worst part of my South Africa trip. Our room is out of the WIFI signal range and they insisted that its my laptop's problem. Also They charged my an extra night without telling me when I checked in and refused to negotiate. In this end I paid ZAR 3,200 per night and got a [--] room and attitude.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Hao L

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. Your feedback is very important to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings with regards to the internet connection and due to the room cancellation fee charged.

We regret that we were unable to refund you for the night you did not stay in the hotel as you pre-paid of two nights' accommodation. Late December is a peak period when our hotel is fully booked and when cancellations policies are unfortunately necessary.

Your reservations was made through the hotel where you stayed prior to ours and the contact person (name withheld - available on request from hotel directly) telephonically confirmed both the accommodation dates and the rate of R1626 per room per night. The contact person who spoke to our reservations agent also confirmed that a written confirmation was not necessary.

Should you wish to discuss your service experience with me in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Assuring you of our best service and personal attention at all times!

Yours sincerely

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

In all the years we passed through Knysna I always wanted to stay at this hotel. Well this year on our way to Plettenbergbay we decided to stay overnight in Knysn and booked into this hotel. The reception an foyer looked beautiful and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. But here it stops. The room was clean and linen and towels beautiful, but the room was very small, very noisy and the capacity for the air-conditioner was not correct for the room size. Breakfast the next morning was a disaster. The waitress bringing the coffee saw something in my husbands cup, upon which she used her finger to scrape it off the side of the cup and continued to pour to coffee. Needless to say he just left the coffee. When trying to get some eggs, the person responsible for making the eggs had disappeared. He ended up just eating fruit and nuts. Apart from this the swimming pool was green and there was no way we using this facility. This hotel has a brilliant location, but that is all. I will surely never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Suzette L

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

The inconvenience which you experienced throughout your stay is most definitely not the standard we strive to achieve. Please be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

I can assure you, should you stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality! Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing