We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Well palced for the waterside area. It is worth the supplement to get the lagoon views. Breakfast good and a nice pool area to chill out. Chill not being appropriate as this is the warmest pool I have even been in! Comfy clean room typical for the chain, we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Martin B

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again in the near future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 848 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Protea was just the average hotel you wanted - comfortable rooms for an overnighter, centrally located, and gives you a decent breakfast to start your day. The pool isn't splendid, the staff show an average level of hospitality, but the rooms are functional and clean. If you're looking for a place to chrash, and dont mine mass market treatment, go for it.

Room Tip: take the sea view - would be worth looking over the yatchs. We were on 323 ( i think ) - the odd num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madhuslg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Madhuslg,

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor after your stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there while doing the Garden route.. so much to do at Hotel, beautiful surroundings, friendly atmosphere and the breakfast...out of this world! :-)) Ask about the waterfall nearby.. beautiful hike..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chriszelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Chriszelda,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are really delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their outstanding service.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is great however not kids friendly. The location is brilliant and the rooms are average. Excellet bedding and scumptious breakfast. I would stay again if it was my husband and I. Family room was not big enough for my family of 4.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kashma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Kashma R

Thank you for review on TripAdvisor. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Centrally located with various restaurants near by. It's an "alright hotel" but nothing special. Really good breakfasts and friendly staff. The location is the best thing about this hotel. They are quite mean with their access to wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johndeirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Johndeirdre1

Thank you for completing a review after your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

I am delighted to hear that my STAFF were so friendly and I have congratulated the breakfast TEAM for doing an outstanding job.

Further to your feedback regarding our wi-fi service, please take note that it works on a voucher system at 200MB per session and complimentary for all GUESTS. Should the internet voucher expire, another can be collected from our reception desk.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We parked in the secure parking available (there is another public car park just outside but this serves for the public transport system as well.) The hotel rooms were large interconnecting. Ours had a view on to the Knysna waterfront yacht marina so we were pretty pleased. The restaurant was used for breakfast only and we had full buffet breakfast. The eggs were cooked to perfection as we ordered them. The front desk staff were helpful although on checking out they were going to charge me for two car parking instead of one. The mistake was due to us having two rooms. When I explained we only had INE car they rectified the situation immediately. If i remember correctly it ios about 40 rand per night, but not sure. It was full at the time but very quite. On the down side the internet service was rather slow . Otherwise all fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the quays not land side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear GRIMS,

Warm greetings from the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays!

Thank you so much for completing a review on TripAdvisor

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered after your recent stay with us. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job! Further to your feedback regarding the parking charges, we sincerely apologise for the misunderstanding and we have addressed this with the front office and security TEAM.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Knysna is one of the Garden Route's best known travel destinations and the hotel is perfectly situated on the water front facing the lagune.
The rooms are nice, clean and the beds are excellent, but breakfast is poor and the hotel has no restaurant for lunch or dinner. Nevertheless, this is not a handicap as at the Marina there are plenty of excellent restaurants.
What was less nice is that the weather was cold and rainy, the room was not heated and as I was there outside high season (October 2012) there was not much to do in this certainly gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Rob65_10

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback regarding the breakfast by no means reflects the high standard of quality and service that Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that I have investigated your comments in a serious light and taken action to rectify the shortcomings.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
829 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $130 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing