We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Perfect spot in Knysna, right on the water among a selection of shops and restaurants. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly service, secure parking available to guests and the kids appreciated the heated pool. Wifi OK but slow, as we found in most South African hotels during our stay. No spa or gym, although there is a therapist who comes to the hotel on request. Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the lagoon as the views and sunsets are wonderful. If you are prepared to walk a block or two for dinner, there is a great wood fired pizza restaurant called Chatters between the hotel and the high street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Darwin_Finch

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again in the near future. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    381
    128
    18
    17
See reviews for
179
377
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
415 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent two nights here in September and we found our room to be large and comfortable with excellent views over the marina and a very convenient short walk in the evenings to a good variety of restaurants within the marina complex. Unfortunately the complementary wi-fi was not working very well when we were there but we appreciated the gesture nonetheless.

It is only a short stroll in the morning to the ferry to Featherbed Nature Reserve which is definitely worth a visit with its great views and scenery and the welcome opportunity to do some optional walking and try to lose a kilo or two after too much road travel and dining.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Lexus51

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor that you completed during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were staying in a Protea hotel in Cape Town and asked the receptionist for help booking a hotel down the Garden Route as the one we had booked had let us down.

She recommended the Protea Hotel in Knysna Quays and arranged a good deal for our two night stop.

The disabled / handicapped room was excellent, with a good roll in shower. Large and spotless.

Breakfasts were in the hotel and were excellent. There is no restaurant for evening meals but there are lots on the quays and the hotel has an arrangement with several where you show your key and the bill is transferred to the hotel for you to pay on departure. Excellent range of restaurants.

A great place from which to explore George, Wilderness etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rochesterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear rochesterhouse

Thank you so much for your valued review on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about our hotel and the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate my TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. P

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This very nice hotel right on the Knysna waterfront offered us a relaxing and comforting stay.
Up early in the morning we could jog along the fantastic scenery of the Knysna lagoon and then back to a wholehearted breakfast. Comfortable rooms, nice staff, spacey everywhere despite the central location. Well organized, a no brainer if you want to stay in Knysna (which by the way I recommend).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale-Milano64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Ale-Milano64

Warm greetings from Knysna!

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the breakfast STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
335 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are good, but not so clean. The cofebreak does not have a good variety of fresh fruits.
But is have a very good location, very close to many restaurants.
There is free internet at the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilherme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guilherme C

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. I can confirm that your concerns have been addressed with the Executive Housekeeper and Food and Beverage Manager and that corrective action have been taken to rectify the shortcomings.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again in the near future.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

It's a very beautiful hotel located on th waterfront. It's got amazing view from the room of the waterfront. The rooms were good nice, clean and cosy. The staff were also very cooperative and the service was excellent. The room service staff were very courteous even suggested some good dishes. I regret that wee stayed there for just 2 nights but would definitely like to visit Knyasna again and to the Protea Knyasna hotel. The shopping was just inside the campus and even very good restaurants inside and as well as within 100 feet walking distance from the hotel. The waterfront was just like not even a stone throw away distance.

We did a lot of adventurous activities around Knyasna, and it was appropriately suggested by the concierge staff. We did Sky diving at Mossel Bay, which was out of the world experience, we also did the canopy tour at Plattenberg Bay, the micro flights at Seigfield. And after a long and adventurous day you get relaxed at the bar watching the waterfront, make you feel stress free and relaxed. It was great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor with a clear view of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Chirag S

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their outstanding service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fantastic location. Neat and well kept hotel. good breakfast choice. Very central and right on the Waterfront with a choice of restuarants and shopping centres within walking distance. Boat rides are from the waterfront and about 30 meters from the hotel. Hotel has a heated pool and is wifi enabled and wifi is complimentary. Excellent location to use as a base to explore the garden route.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravinaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear ravinaidoo

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us.

We are always very delighted to receive such lovely compliments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
769 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing