We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for sightseeing in Knysna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The hotel is a gigantic log cabin and has lots of character. The rooms are clean and well-equipped and there's a free off-road car park. It's ideally situated to visit the new waterfront development, which I highly recommend. Being on the main road from the town to the waterfront is is slightly noisy though. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the road and we sat out there at about 10pm to drink some wine and chill out, but had to retreat into the room as it proved a little too noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigJemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 322 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2009

Room 137

What a lovely hotel, warm wooden log theme as the name suggests. Lovely lobby and atrium. Quirky corridors to the rooms, need to be seen to appreciate.

This room was at the back of the hotel (so no traffic noise), facing a hillside (in the distance) and gardens with a small but adequate swimming pool. A stable door leads to a balcony with chairs.

Beautifully decorated in a wood theme and very comfortable, spacious and clean with comfy beds and nice linens. Two armchairs and table with plenty of storage space.

Good sized bathroom with nice towels and toiletries.

The AC was somewhat noisy but the efficient ceiling fan was more than sufficient to keep air moving and the room cool.

A nice touch on arrival was a jar of homemade shortbread on the tea and coffee tray (scrumptious) and refilled daily. So too was the vacuum jug of ice.

Pleasant restaurant for breakfast only (they no longer do evening meals) with a good buffet selection, pleasant staff throughout hotel.

Internet available in lobby at 20 Rands for twenty minutes.

Across the road is a lively, reasonably priced bar/restaurant called Oldes which does very good steaks (beef and ostrich), amongst other items. Room service also comes from this restaurant. Almost next door to Oldes is a Chinese buffet restaurant and a little further along the street another good restaurant, the name of which I can't remember but it had a nautical sounding name. A pizza restaurant is also just yards away with an outdoor patio.

Less than five minutes safe level walk to The Waterfront for a further selection of restaurants and several tourist type shops. From this location you can take the fifteen minute crossing over to Featherbed Nature Reserve. A tractor drawn vehicle takes you to the top of the reserve and you can walk back down(if you wish) a rough pathway which is quite steep in places to sea level and a wonderful twenty minute walk along the beach to an outdoor restaurant where a buffet lunch is served. One tip, take the walking poles that are supplied to help with the downward walk, they are a good aid.

I would not recommend the uphill walk to the town, we walked on Saturday afternoon when all the shops were closed (but we just wanted to see town) and felt not exactly unsafe but a little uneasy, probably just imagination.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SENORAWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Cute Little boutique hotel just off the Knysna Quay.. maybe a two minutes stroll to the Knysna Quay. The Hotel is made entirely of wood.. so beautiful.. great rooms( not very big but all rooms are with a balcony!!) good bathrooms.. great service. Breakfast was ok..

The Hotel also has a small but clean swimming pool , jacuzzi and steam room. It helped that we were the only 2 using the pool at that time so we had the entire pool area to ourselves.!:)


Loved the 2 nights we spent here!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Pleasant hotel in centre of town - short walk to Waterfront (bars / restaurants / boat trips) and to Town Centre.
Parking at rear of hotel, pool and sauna in grounds.

We were allocated a room on the street side of the hotel but after 1 night we changed to a poolside room as this was much much quieter. The hotel staff were excellent with request and transfered all our belongings etc after breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chessykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We had stayed at this beautiful hotel at Knysna .Its really beautifully made with the wooden lobby area .Its pool was very much enjoyed by the kids ...being warm even though it was really cold outside.The rooms are really great and the bathrooms are clean and wel kept.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DreamzA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Stayed in this establishment for two nights as part of our honeymoon- not what it was advertised as- the decor is very jaded! one night is plenty- if possible avoid the front of the hotel as it is directly over a busy street. It is supposed to be a four star hotel- not in my opinion is this true given the qulaity of the other hotels we stayed in during our 2 weeks in SA. the rooms are very dark! The images on a number of the wed sites are from the rear of the hotel. Well chosen as ithey are not a true reflection of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

One of the highlights of our 3 week trip was 3 nights at the Log Inn Knysna. It is so close to the town and also the harbour so getting around is no problem. Great choice of seafood and fab resturants in the close proximatey. The hotel was clean with a small pool and sauna area, good parking facilities great breakfast and a nice bar and resturant on site. rooms are spacious and clean and staff looked after us well. Would definately recommend this hotel. The only point i would make is that accomodation was 1/2 the cost when we were there as what we paid in advance !! but thats the chance you take.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonandGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $103 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing