We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Log!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai,India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Log!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Cute Little boutique hotel just off the Knysna Quay.. maybe a two minutes stroll to the Knysna Quay. The Hotel is made entirely of wood.. so beautiful.. great rooms( not very big but all rooms are with a balcony!!) good bathrooms.. great service. Breakfast was ok..

The Hotel also has a small but clean swimming pool , jacuzzi and steam room. It helped that we were the only 2 using the pool at that time so we had the entire pool area to ourselves.!:)


Loved the 2 nights we spent here!!

  • Liked — The Log Styled Decor
  • Disliked — No Elevators, Breakfast could've been better
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    133
    43
    9
    1
See reviews for
73
125
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, West Midlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Pleasant hotel in centre of town - short walk to Waterfront (bars / restaurants / boat trips) and to Town Centre.
Parking at rear of hotel, pool and sauna in grounds.

We were allocated a room on the street side of the hotel but after 1 night we changed to a poolside room as this was much much quieter. The hotel staff were excellent with request and transfered all our belongings etc after breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chessykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We had stayed at this beautiful hotel at Knysna .Its really beautifully made with the wooden lobby area .Its pool was very much enjoyed by the kids ...being warm even though it was really cold outside.The rooms are really great and the bathrooms are clean and wel kept.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamzA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Stayed in this establishment for two nights as part of our honeymoon- not what it was advertised as- the decor is very jaded! one night is plenty- if possible avoid the front of the hotel as it is directly over a busy street. It is supposed to be a four star hotel- not in my opinion is this true given the qulaity of the other hotels we stayed in during our 2 weeks in SA. the rooms are very dark! The images on a number of the wed sites are from the rear of the hotel. Well chosen as ithey are not a true reflection of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

One of the highlights of our 3 week trip was 3 nights at the Log Inn Knysna. It is so close to the town and also the harbour so getting around is no problem. Great choice of seafood and fab resturants in the close proximatey. The hotel was clean with a small pool and sauna area, good parking facilities great breakfast and a nice bar and resturant on site. rooms are spacious and clean and staff looked after us well. Would definately recommend this hotel. The only point i would make is that accomodation was 1/2 the cost when we were there as what we paid in advance !! but thats the chance you take.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonandGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Knysna Log Inn. Was a bit worried after reading a few bad reviews, but we loved it. Then again, I think our room may have been in the nicer part of the hotel! The hotel had a really nice feel to it and the wooden staircases etc gave it a real 'quirkiness', which made it seem different from all the other hotels.

The hotel was also in a really good location, just 5 minutes walk from the main waterfront, which is fantastic for cafes, shops, restaurants etc. We didn't find it to be at all dangerous walking around in the evening etc, as others have mentioned - but again I guess just luck! Staff at the hotel were very helpful.

Only slight disappointment was probably the food in the restaurant, which we had the first night. But all in all a terrific place to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Evening meal
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

this hotel is excellent made of wood and wooden throughout, a loveley base in this area with a massive woodeed staircase into the reception food and staff excellent

  • Liked — the wooden decor
  • Disliked — the small pool area
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fennerjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Property: Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing