We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Overpriced average hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent a week travelling along the garden route and this hotel was by far the most expensive and not in the least impressive. An older hotel, the rooms themselves have been updated but being inside a log-cabin type establishment makes the modern decor seem out of place. The rooms and bathrooms are small but clean. When we called down to the front desk to get a wifi code, we were told that someone would bring it right up, after 30 minutes we called down again, 20 minutes later we called again. When someone brought it up, we were told that they were very busy and that next time we should just come down to the front desk. If this was the case, it would have been more appropriate for the staff on the first call to simply tell us to come down and get it instead of making us wait almost an hour for the wifi code. The room we had, had a nice balcony but looked right onto the main street which was incredibly noisy due to the holiday season. The breakfast was good with a variety of options. Wouldn't stay here again because of the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Sriani683

I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience during your stay at the Knysna Log-Inn hotel.
I would appreciate it if you could e-mail me the dates that you stayed with us as I would like to find out which of my receptionist rendered such bad service to you - (you can e-mail to reservations@log-inn.co.za) in order for me to be able to reprimand the person responsible as this is not how we treat our guests. Each and every guest if very important to us and I would like to ensure that this does not happen again.

I fully agree with you that it is totally unacceptable to have to wait such a long time for a mere Wi-Fi code. Please accept my sincere apologies.

Kind regards
MARTI
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    131
    43
    8
    1
See reviews for
72
122
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Excellent friendly helpful and warm service. All staff very friendly and made my stay most enjoyable. Didn't have to ask for anything as all my needs where met.the staff certainly do make one feel very much at home and comfortable.
Pool sparkling clean and prettu well looked after gardens. Very central location . Ample parking on the hotel grounds.
Breakfast was a delicious delight of a well balanced variety and freshly prepared.

I had a wonderful 3 days at this beautiful location and almost sad to leave.
Have made good friends here and will take good memories with me.

Leslene ( Cape Town )

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslene cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Leslene

Thank you for your review of the Knysna Log-Inn Hotel.

As a manager, it is great to hear that guests enjoyed their stay. It is especially great to know that the staff were doing what they are supposed to do while I was not there!! (Have to have to odd day or 2 off...)

Most of the staff have been working here for longer than 8 years, and without them, our greatest asset, I will be lost.

I do agree with you, the breakfast is great!! We are spoilt for choice with all the fresh fruit available!

I hope we will be able to welcome you back at the Knysna Log-Inn in the not so distant future. It would be great to meet you, so please pop into my office the next time you stay with us.

Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was a stopover on our way back to JHB. A fantastic location and hotel. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was superb! The rooms were brilliant and very comfortable. Would definitley stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Owen L


Thank you for your review of the Knysna Log-Inn hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. The hotel really is something special with all the yellowwood and the rather large stained glass windows in the foyer.

Most of our staff have been working here for 8 years or longer and they really are our biggest assest. Without their friendly and helpful attitude towards our guests, my task would be very difficult.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Knysna Log-Inn in the near future - not for a stopover, but for a nice long stay. Knysna is the ideal location to use as a base to explore the Garden Route - no need to pack-up and move to yet another town and hotel every day - just come back "home"

May 2014 be the best year ever for you and your family. Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have stayed here a few times on our SA travels and its always been good.
It is quirky and the staff are always friendly and helpful.
It is very central to Knysna and only a short walk to the water front (quay) and the lovely JJ restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor by the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Karen H

Thank you for your review of the Knysna Log-Inn hotel.

It is great to hear that you have stayed with us a few times. You are quite right - the hotel is quirky, and I do not mean only the corridors, but also our few wooden "pets" - hope you have met them all. If not, please see me on your next visit and I will personally introduce you!

Our location really is ideal for walking to places and enjoying Knysna at leisure without the worry of trying to find parking or worrying about "that last bottle of wine" and driving....

There are quite a few great restaurants at the waterfront and JJ's is one of our favourites and we have been sending people there for many years - always a hit!

We hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Knysna and the choice of this hotel was a really good one. Located at less than ten minutes from the waterfront, this all-wood hotel has wide rooms, a nice personnel and, without being exceptional, breakfast is fairy good.
Certainly a good address along the garden route!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Alberto P

Thanks for your review of the Knysna Log-Inn hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you think staying at the Knysna Log-Inn was a good idea.

Our location does make it easy to walk around leisurely without having to worry about parking. As you mentioned, the waterfront is a mere 10 minutes walk away as is the rest of Knysna - to the opposite side, of course!

Our staff are really our biggest assets and without them it would not be able to run this magnificent hotel. Every single one of them contributes towards making our guests feel at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent service and friendly staff. The location is great, except for no view and a bit noisy because of traffic, with a short walk to the Waterfront and several restaurants. The breakfast is very good and rooms are clean and spacious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Karin B

Thanks for your review of the Knysna Log-Inn hotel.

Sometimes one has to "take the good with the bad..." We have a great location which makes it easy to walk to the waterfront and to the rest of town, but the "bad" bit is also our location, which can be a bit noisy sometimes because of the traffic...... but the owners tried to minimise the noise by double glazing the street side windows and putting air conditioners and fans in all the rooms so guests do not need to sleep with the windows open.

My housekeeper, Petro, is a gem - she looks after the rooms and makes sure everything is neat and tidy and clean. Most of the housekeeping ladies have been working here for many years and without them we will be lost.

I do hope you will come back to paradise (Knysna) and visit us again soon with ALL your friends and family - OK only the friends...

Kind regards
MARTI DALE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were travelling the Garden Route and chose Knysna as an overnight stay. This hotel is literally as the name suggests, build entirely of timber with a log cabin feel. The rooms have been refurbished in Classic French provincial style, very well appointed, comfortable and roomy. The pool area is a bit ordinary but a nice respite from the hot weather. It is only a 5 minute walk to the waterfront area which is great.

We liked this hotel very much and would recommend it. The staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room if traffic noise is a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Mark Laurence

Thank you for your review of the Knysna Log-Inn Hotel. I am very happy that you styed with us while you were in Knysna otherwise you would have missed out on something special!!.

I must say, the hotel is special with all the wood - and the owners tried to keep the history of Knysna and its woodcutting history alive, so we are not just a "pretty face"

As you mentioned, the pool area is not very big, but we find that guests do not make use of it a lot as Knysna and surrounds have so much to offer that they hardly have time to spend at the hotel.

Most of our staff have been working here for quite a while and it seems they enjoy it, and it is easy to be helpful and friendly with great guests such as yourselves.

Hope you will be able to visit us from down under again someday soon.

Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#14 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Property: Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#13 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing