We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with nice old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel has a nice old world charm. Rooms are well furnished and quite large.We had a very comfortable stay.
The hotel is close to the water side warf, where the resturants are located.
The staff were not friendly, though the service level was adequate.
Breakfast spread was OK but the buffet was laid out in a crammed place

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prasanta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

Dear Prassanta.
Thank you for your review. One of our unique selling points is our location in our beautiful little town of Knysna. The only time you should find breakfast area crammed is if we have a large group who ask to depart early and we set out both hot and cold breakfast to speed up service. Maybe that was also why you perceived our staff to not be friendly. That is normally one of our really strong points. Apologies for that.
We like to offer relaxed breakfast to most of our guests whereby you can chose from the big continental selection while getting your cooked breakfast prepared in the kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 335 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel overall was very clean and the rooms are beautifully decorated, but the hotel faces onto a very noisy, very busy road which was very disturbing. You cant spend time in your room during the day or try have an afternoon sleep as the traffic noise is so loud. it does quiten down late at night. Make sure to request a room that faces the pool as these should be a lot quieter. Breakfast was the usual fare, with nice muffins. Overall a pleasant stay and the hotel is well situated being close to the waterfront, but I was put off by the traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room which is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

Dear Moomole
Thank you so much for your review and your positive comments about the cleanliness and look of the Hotel and rooms. Knysna Log-Inns location is just so good. Just two blocks safe walk to the Waterfront and two blocks walk to the centre of the little town of Knysna
We are sorry that the little road outside the hotel somewhat spoiled your stay at Knysna Log-Inn.
You must have been in a bad spot on a particularly busy day. Two thirds of the rooms no not face onto the road and its a pity that you were not placed in one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed for just one night. But we all wished we could have stayed longer. You can't go wrong with this place. Beautifully done. Clean, spacious. Good Internet connection.
Set within walking distance to the waterfront. Great breakfast. Would highly recommend it. But you have to book in advance. They are pretty full.well worth your money.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank sramalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

Dear Sramalin
So good to hear we got it right. We are very blessed to have a great staff that is proud of their very hard work.
Your comments will be so appreciated by all of them.
Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The architecture and design - all wood - are unusual and striking. The rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms old-fashioned, but adequate. The location is very convenient, a mere 500m from the Knysna Quays. Breakfast offers a generous continental buffet and a good cooked-to-order selection. Reception and restaurant staff are friendly and helpful. As a major tourist destination, Knysna is pricey.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 106 to 108, they overlook a four-way stop and you need to be a very sound sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin_ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

Dear Martin
Thank you for your review. The style of this hotel was conceived by the owners to try and bring back a little of Knysna's past as a Indigenous timber hub. So much of that history has been lost, but we have tried to show guests what you can achieve with timber if you really want to.
Location of the hotel is ideal being within close walking distance of both the Waterfront and the town centre.
Thank you for your kind comments about the friendliness of the staff. They are genuinely pround of what they do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Me and my girlfriend had a very wonderful stay. Friendly stuff. Rooms was always in good and clean condition. Wifi was also a great advantage. Also the location was very good.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Micheal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

Dear Michael
Thank you for your kind comments.

So happy to hear the our FREE wi-fi and internet connection that we have recently upgraded, was appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Me and my family were treated to a great stay with the hospitality of the staff. With the free wifi we were able to see what there was to do around town. We walked around town and was treated to 3 separate malls in a 1 block radius so with a central location the Knysna Log-Inn is the perfect destination. If you are in the bar there be sure to ask Danny the bar keep for a township toilet his specialty drink for one to remember. The staff made my family feel comfortable and relax. Thank you for the wonderful stay with you guys.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnKaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at this cosy hotel. The attached verandah is an added attraction for sit-out.The central location allows exploring Knysna on foot.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler-O-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
868 reviews
2.8 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#23 of 30 in Knysna
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $98 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing