We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phantom River View Cabins
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$295
$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$547
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$67
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russel Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$77
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
36
11
6
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
11
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspacious cabinthese cabinsprivate poolamazing viewslonger stayknysna areacape townestatedeckforestdustbirdssoulfireplacetranquilitynatureamenities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 57 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked mid to end December and paid a price. Nice setting but dirty and dated taking two days to clean after we complained. Old cutlery, plates, toaster, Weber completely disintegrating, deck boards broken. No vacuum cleaner, we bought one...no fans, we bought three. Staff complained they are used at caretaker's unit, not able to clean, pool hose broken. Found and killed rat in dishwasher, no tumble dryer. Clothes rewashed as washing machine seals full of dirt, old fridge with broken panels, smelly towels. Strange coincidence the review by Penny, our agent was also Penny from Cape Town who could not get her boss to phone us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJV_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lize B, Manager at Phantom River View Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We received our 4 star grading certificate from the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa in November 2012. The only suggestions were that we supply a flat screen TV and replace the plastic sun loungers with wooden. We undertook to replace both these items prior to your arrival. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our cabins as well as keeping them to their 4 star standard.
December and January are our busiest times with clients arriving and leaving on the same day. This requires swift action from our dedicated staff who have only 4 hours to do a complete clean and linen change.
We accommodated you by allowing you to arrive 2 hours earlier than the check-in time on the understanding that the cleaners would still be busy. Unfortunately you did not allow them time to complete their duties before pointing out various items that were unclean and which you were dissatisfied with. The caretaker does a pre-arrival inspection once the cleaners have completed their duties. He had not been able to do the pre-arrival inspection prior to your arrival as the clean was not yet completed.
The standard of our cutlery, plates, toaster etc. are of 4 Star quality. We are a self-catering establishment, and suffer frequent breakages and losses. As such we do not stock absolute top of the range items as the cost of replacement would have a negative effect on our competitive rates.
All bedrooms have fans in the cupboards. The pool hose and Weber were immediately replaced as were all the items that you were dissatisfied with including cutlery and glasses. We were unaware that the vacuum cleaner we provide had a mechanical problem and refunded you for the purchase of the new one.
The cabins are situated in a Nature Reserve and we do sometimes have field mice and other creatures making their way in, but we do our utmost to ensure our furry friends are instructed to leave prior to guest’s arrival. We have had one opportunistic mouse in Cabin 16 that has been spotted by prior guests and has evaded us for some time. I have spoken to my caretaker and he was not informed of a rat in the dishwasher which he found strange as you pointed out every other item that you were dissatisfied with.
The washing machine is used frequently and we have not had any other guest comments in this regard, however we have now checked and maintained the seals as well as the fridge. You did not mention these items to the caretaker who I believe was present when you were doing a load of laundry. We never advertised a tumble dryer for this cabin so it should not have been expected. The climate in the area is such that clothing hung on the washing line will be dry in no time at all. We are also in the process of getting a “Green” grading and as such we try not to encourage the wasteful use of electricity.
With respect to the towels, we have checked our on-site manager’s washing machine/detergent and found it to be in perfect working order. The caretaker was not informed that you were dissatisfied with the towels. We have never before had a comment with respect to the smell of the towels.
The Penny J that wrote the review prior to you is a frequent visitor at Phantom River View. Penny is a business traveller that we accommodate at least 4 times a year. She bears no relation to Penny who is our Reservations Manager.
The owner of the property was made aware of your complaints and accommodated you by allowing the purchase of all new items that you requested as well as giving us carte blanche to do whatever necessary to make your stay more pleasurable.
Penny did get her boss to phone you. I am Penny’s boss and I spoke to you on no less than four occasions. Perhaps you were referring to the owner; however as managers of his properties he leaves these matters to us.
We are in the business of Happy Holidays and will always bend over backwards to accommodate our clients in any way we can. We have many, many repeat clients at Cabin 16 who absolutely love what it has to offer and we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have had the privilege of being able to spend time in both of these beautiful cabins. From beginning to end I enjoyed a magical experience. The cabins are both tastefully decorated and everything I needed was there.

The views are stunning and the air of quiet tranquillity is something that is hard to find in this day and age. The glorious sounds of the forest is all the company I needed.

I like that the estate itself is so small and peaceful, you almost feel like you're entering a different world when you drive in. The cabins themselves are similar with small differences, but the overwhelming sense is that you have arrived somewhere special and will leave feeling like a new person. I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The only thing I could wish for as I write this .... is that I had booked my December holiday with them earlier this year.

On a serious note ...

The Phantom cabins have always provided the perfect getaway for my family and are always our first choice when looking for a Christmas Holiday or mid year break.

The cabins provide a wonderful rest from the craziness of life and yet are close enough to Knsyna for us to enjoy the shops and restaurants when we feel like people and a caffeine buzz.

Sedgefield is also a hop-skip-and-a-jump for us (me) to go fishing.

.. and so frankly these cabins tick all the boxes for me

AND they meet all my wifes (many) demands and requirements on self catering accommodation.

Without a doubt you will enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les 2 chambres cote terrasse et pour le reste bonne chance !
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews