We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Jembjos on our way along the garden route. Our double ensuite room was good, comfy beds and towels were provided. The free breakfast was plenty for us, with fruit, toast eggs etc. Nice communal area for watching tv and using the free wifi as well.
The owners were very welcoming and recommended us a couple of restaurants nearby and the whale & dolphin watching - well worth the money for how close we were able to go to the dolphins! They were also able to recommend places to see for the rest of the trip which was very useful. Would definitely stay here again if we visited Knysna in future! Thank you Karl & Mandy

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a double room. Really liked the friendliness of the staff and especially the owner. He gave us some good advise for this to do (also oudside of Knysna) and made us feel very welcome! The free breakfast was great and the only thing that we didn't really enjoy was that our matrass seemed to have a hole in it and that we were quite far away from the bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesperahsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our overland tour of 8 people for one night.
Great hostel with large comfy sofas you can lounge on and sit by the fireplace.
Rooms were warm and bunk beds comfortable.
Great kitchen with everything you need plus they provide a free breakfast of mixed fruit, bread jams and eggs, just make it yourself :)
Wonderful guys who run the place and super helpful with any information about the town and can organise any tours.
Wifi was good.
Overall had a pleasant stay and will come back again :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucylupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Best hostel so far, in SA! Karl abd Mandy make you feel home in an instant. The hostel is actually there home and we didnt feel ourselves like guests for one moment. Rooms: clean and comfortable! Kitchen; everything you need, plus a great breakfast included with eggs and fruit! Shower; warm! Livingroom is comfy. Karl put on the braai and had a wonderful time eating and playing games. Also very helpful advice of activities. When we left mandy said: "leaving? Just becoming part of the family!" And so it felt. Tnx guys!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aStoryForTomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Mandy and Karl were very helpful and friendly from start to finish. Fraser was really cute too :)
We stayed here for 4 nights in a private double with shared bathroom. The only problem with our room was it was on the ground floor at the bottom of the stairs so we could hear people going up and down the wooden stairs and it also backed onto the kitchen so very early morning we could hear the breakfast stuff being set up. So not much sleep was had. Jembjos was very clean and well equipped with everything we could possible need . Karl also did a braai one evening and all we needed to get was what we wanted to eat and drink...

Room Tip: The downstairs room were pretty noisy. Not sure if it was because everywhere was wooden flooring inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent from arrival to departure. Friendly welcome and introduction to the hostel and the surroundings. Room was clean and comfortable and so was the shared bathroom and lounge. Kitchen was well stocked with all utensils, and we were invited to bring along things to put on the braai/BBQ that Karl lit for the night. We felt right at home with Karl and Mandy. Quality was amazing and was great value for money. Thanks, Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanDan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We felt right at home as soon as we arrived at Jembjos...Karl and Fraser the dog (who was very hard to spot, owing to his awesome camouflage outfit...) welcomed us straight away, and Karl gave us a handy map and a ton of good advice on where to go for all our adventure/leisure needs. Staying in Jembjos made us feel like we were just chilling at a friend's house, as Karl and Mandy are so friendly and involved in the life of the hostel. The dorm had character and was clean and cosy, and there was secure off-street parking for our hire car and a brilliant kitchen. It's location makes it the perfect base for going out the beach and to explore the town/restaurants. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#26 of 107 in Knysna
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#28 of 107 in Knysna
225 reviews
14.2 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 22 in Sedgefield
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Footprints of Knysna
Footprints of Knysna
#19 of 107 in Knysna
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
52 on Main
52 on Main
#60 of 107 in Knysna
38 reviews
2.2 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#13 of 129 in Knysna
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 4 Queen Street | Lower Central, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: $21 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the Garden Route, we warmly welcome you to relax & enjoy Jembjo's of Knysna. Our boutique backpackers/lodge, is a little bit of luxury that is kind on your pocket & we take pride in making sure you feel at 'home'. We have a range of accommodation to suit every budget, from Dorm beds to de-luxe family en-suite rooms. We are perfectly located in the heart of lower-central Knysna & are just a 2 minute walk away from both the 'Waterfront' & town. - Knysna is South Africa's best kept secret - so come check it out... Book directly with us - 3 nights or more for 10% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing