We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hide Away Guest House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brenton Beach House(Brenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
$82
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Creek Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$53
$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$144
$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teniqua Treetops(Sedgefield)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$237
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
147
69
22
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
69
22
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastfriendly and helpful ownersbed dormcommunal areascommunal kitchenother guestswithin walking distancebraai arearoom was clean and comfortablemin walkpleasant staygreat advicecentral locationthesen islandenjoyed our stayfamily roomrecommend staying here
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 246 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Best hostel so far, in SA! Karl abd Mandy make you feel home in an instant. The hostel is actually there home and we didnt feel ourselves like guests for one moment. Rooms: clean and comfortable! Kitchen; everything you need, plus a great breakfast included with eggs and fruit! Shower; warm! Livingroom is comfy. Karl put on the braai and had a wonderful time eating and playing games. Also very helpful advice of activities. When we left mandy said: "leaving? Just becoming part of the family!" And so it felt. Tnx guys!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aStoryForTomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Mandy and Karl were very helpful and friendly from start to finish. Fraser was really cute too :)
We stayed here for 4 nights in a private double with shared bathroom. The only problem with our room was it was on the ground floor at the bottom of the stairs so we could hear people going up and down the wooden stairs and it also backed onto the kitchen so very early morning we could hear the breakfast stuff being set up. So not much sleep was had. Jembjos was very clean and well equipped with everything we could possible need . Karl also did a braai one evening and all we needed to get was what we wanted to eat and drink...

Room Tip: The downstairs room were pretty noisy. Not sure if it was because everywhere was wooden flooring including the stairs so it just echoed... But if your a heavy sleeper you should be fine.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent from arrival to departure. Friendly welcome and introduction to the hostel and the surroundings. Room was clean and comfortable and so was the shared bathroom and lounge. Kitchen was well stocked with all utensils, and we were invited to bring along things to put on the braai/BBQ that Karl lit for the night. We felt right at home with Karl and Mandy. Quality was amazing and was great value for money. Thanks, Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanDan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We felt right at home as soon as we arrived at Jembjos...Karl and Fraser the dog (who was very hard to spot, owing to his awesome camouflage outfit...) welcomed us straight away, and Karl gave us a handy map and a ton of good advice on where to go for all our adventure/leisure needs. Staying in Jembjos made us feel like we were just chilling at a friend's house, as Karl and Mandy are so friendly and involved in the life of the hostel. The dorm had character and was clean and cosy, and there was secure off-street parking for our hire car and a brilliant kitchen. It's location makes it the perfect base for going out the beach and to explore the town/restaurants. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I had the nicest time during my stay at Jembjo's. Only Karl was there, (his wife Mandy was away) but he and his sweet little dog Fraser made me feel right at home.

As I was getting checked in, Karl asked what I was interested in doing while in Knysna and gave me some really good suggestions for how best to explore the town and surrounding area. When I expressed interest in one of the options - a sailing trip out to the Knysna Heads - he immediately rang them up and found out that a boat was going on out within the half hour and even drove me down to the Waterfront to ensure I would make it!

On my second night there Karl fired up the braai and he, I, and two other guests had a lovely evening grilling, eating, drinking and chatting about our travels. Karl has travelled all over Africa and was full of great stories about his time on this amazing continent.

The backpackers itself is lovely, clean and kept up with loving care. The kitchen is gorgeous, and the free breakfast each morning was a lovely extra.

This is really the place to stay if you are tired of soul-less backpackers and want a more personal experience during your stay in Knysna. Karl and Mandy (and Fraser!) will treat you right!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelleyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews