We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Best hostel so far, in SA! Karl abd Mandy make you feel home in an instant. The hostel is actually there home and we didnt feel ourselves like guests for one moment. Rooms: clean and comfortable! Kitchen; everything you need, plus a great breakfast included with eggs and fruit! Shower; warm! Livingroom is comfy. Karl put on the braai and had a wonderful time eating and playing games. Also very helpful advice of activities. When we left mandy said: "leaving? Just becoming part of the family!" And so it felt. Tnx guys!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aStoryForTomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    47
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
66
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Mandy and Karl were very helpful and friendly from start to finish. Fraser was really cute too :)
We stayed here for 4 nights in a private double with shared bathroom. The only problem with our room was it was on the ground floor at the bottom of the stairs so we could hear people going up and down the wooden stairs and it also backed onto the kitchen so very early morning we could hear the breakfast stuff being set up. So not much sleep was had. Jembjos was very clean and well equipped with everything we could possible need . Karl also did a braai one evening and all we needed to get was what we wanted to eat and drink...

Room Tip: The downstairs room were pretty noisy. Not sure if it was because everywhere was wooden flooring inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent from arrival to departure. Friendly welcome and introduction to the hostel and the surroundings. Room was clean and comfortable and so was the shared bathroom and lounge. Kitchen was well stocked with all utensils, and we were invited to bring along things to put on the braai/BBQ that Karl lit for the night. We felt right at home with Karl and Mandy. Quality was amazing and was great value for money. Thanks, Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanDan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We felt right at home as soon as we arrived at Jembjos...Karl and Fraser the dog (who was very hard to spot, owing to his awesome camouflage outfit...) welcomed us straight away, and Karl gave us a handy map and a ton of good advice on where to go for all our adventure/leisure needs. Staying in Jembjos made us feel like we were just chilling at a friend's house, as Karl and Mandy are so friendly and involved in the life of the hostel. The dorm had character and was clean and cosy, and there was secure off-street parking for our hire car and a brilliant kitchen. It's location makes it the perfect base for going out the beach and to explore the town/restaurants. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I had the nicest time during my stay at Jembjo's. Only Karl was there, (his wife Mandy was away) but he and his sweet little dog Fraser made me feel right at home.

As I was getting checked in, Karl asked what I was interested in doing while in Knysna and gave me some really good suggestions for how best to explore the town and surrounding area. When I expressed interest in one of the options - a sailing trip out to the Knysna Heads - he immediately rang them up and found out that a boat was going on out within the half hour and even drove me down to the Waterfront to ensure I would make it!

On my second night there Karl fired up the braai and he, I, and two other guests had a lovely evening grilling, eating, drinking and chatting about our travels. Karl has travelled all over Africa and was full of great stories about his time on this amazing continent.

The backpackers itself is lovely, clean and kept up with loving care. The kitchen is gorgeous, and the free breakfast each morning was a lovely extra.

This is really the place to stay if you are tired of soul-less backpackers and want a more personal experience during your stay in Knysna. Karl and Mandy (and Fraser!) will treat you right!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Karl, Mandy and famous dog Fraser give genuine care and hospitality in Knysna very comfy home from home for travellers needing rest and inspiration. The dorm bunks are warm, neat and clean, bathrooms spotless, private rooms lovely and outside garden patio area with cozy BBQ area a delight for chilling out and sharing travel stories with other guests and owners Karl and Mandy who have travelled and explored overland throughout Africa and Middle East

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Jembjos is a homey, awesome, owner-operated hostel; they do have lovely private rooms or dorm rooms--one is a 14 bed dorm (really more like a 10 bed with a 4 bed connected, which we stayed in) with lockers for your backpack. Not much privacy but good way to save money. They have a nice free self-cater breakfast, nice kitchen, outdoor braii area, free wifi, lovely communal area with tv and couches, quiet, great location 2 blocks from waterfront and a 7 minute walk to Thesen Islands. The bathroom in the 14 bed dorm was a bit odd--they really need doors on there. They tried to make the bathrooms roomier by having bead curtains instead of doors, but doors are really necessary when toilets are only 6 feet from people's beds. The dorm room was completely full but people were fairly respectful of quiet hours. The owners live there and are there all day, so you get the idea immediately that is is not a super loud place to party, but is a very nice place to stay for a couple of nights.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kpcharlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.4 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#17 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
6.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#33 of 100 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#25 of 100 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Property: Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Address: 4 Queen Street | Lower Central, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the Garden Route, we warmly welcome you to relax & enjoy Jembjo's of Knysna. Our boutique backpackers/lodge, is a little bit of luxury that is kind on your pocket & we take pride in making sure you feel at 'home'. We have a range of accommodation to suit every budget, from Dorm beds to de-luxe family en-suite rooms. We are perfectly located in the heart of lower-central Knysna & are just a 2 minute walk away from both the 'Waterfront' & town. - Knysna is South Africa's best kept secret - so come check it out... Book directly with us - 3 nights or more for 10% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing