We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Ocean Odyssey
from $66.26
More Info
from $72.47
More Info
from $55.91
More Info
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
103
26
5
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
103
26
5
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales whale watching stormy weather boat captain knysna heads great tour johannes sea jacket viewing safety coastline
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 143 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2019

We visited in July and the weather wasn’t great . Booked originally on the early afternoon trip and when we arrived were informed it was too dangerous to go but the forecast was due to get better later so to come back in a couple of hours. We did that but unfortunately it was still too choppy. Third time lucky they put on an extra early morning tour and BINGO. We saw three Souther Right whales with calves and dolphins. So lucky and our guide sorry can’t remember his name was chatty and obviously very knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Dibs10scape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvelynP2020, Marketing Assistant at Ocean Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

The third time is a charm!! I'm so glad that we got you out to sea eventually for an amazing time! Unfortunately, mother nature is very unpredictable but we try our best to read conditions and advise our clients when it is the best day for an ocean-going tour! Thank you so much and come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019

My wife Lynda, daughter Becky and I had a wonderful experience, with the close encounter tour on the 5th August.
We saw a large amount of Whales, jumping and what seemed like "Playing" in the water. it was truly and exception experience and I would recommend to anyone.
Water was a bit choppy especially on the return trip, but were asked the day before to change from the 3.00 pm to 12 pm, which we were able to do, and therefore not miss out on the incredible experience (advise light meal and travel tablets (Both my daughter and wife normally suffer from sea sickness, not this time, partly due to reading the advise on the website
The Captain was fantastic, and helped my wife who has a back injury, and he was checking constantly that she was okay and the waves were not hurting her back 5 star service

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank SpeedyReedy286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvelynP2020, Marketing Assistant at Ocean Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Hi, Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad that you and your family had an amazing time with us on the ocean! We are all about safety and comfort and our passengers are our main priority! Thank you and come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

What an awesome experience this whale watching trip in Knysna, very kindly en professional crew. A must seen have!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank RdeBacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvelynP2020, Marketing Assistant at Ocean Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Hi, Thank you so much for your review! Our crew is very passionate about what we do and we love to share our passion with our guests! Thank you so much and please visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019

A good way to view the colourful coastline and exciting to see the Dolphins. Hard to get photos as they jumped up and down through the water but an experience just the same. Well organised.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank mcc372015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvelynP2020, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2019

Hi, thank you so much for the review! Yes, it's definitely not an easy task to get a good shot of them in action! It takes a lot of patience and tries to get that one perfect shot! But that's what makes it so special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019

Spectacular view of the Knysna lagoon & headlands as we headed out into open waters. Spotted pods of dolphins and followed them down the coast. Wow! They were fast. Great fun & and joy to watch.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvelynP2020, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2019

Hi Leanne, thank you for your review! We are so glad that you had an amazing tour with us and hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews