We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil”
Review of The Tin House Cafe

The Tin House Cafe
Ranked #38 of 163 Restaurants in Knysna
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A Beautiful Haven, beach-chic cozy indoor area with a crackling fire for those cold winter dates, a wonderful decking area to sit and watch the work go by, plus an enchanted Garden area. Fresh Healthy food, Freshly squeezed Fruit Juices, Divine Coffee, All Day breakfasts, brunch, lunch and Delicious Cakes..Plus free Wifi. Fully licensed. Live Music in the Evenings, follows us on Facebook to see the live music line-up and dates Children's play section plus baby changing facilities and baby high chairs (totseat, for kiddies who lunch) Would be great if you can write a review so others can enjoy this gem too!
Knysna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lovely little haven of peace in the town centre. Ideal for meeting for coffee, or having a lovely cooked breakfast or lunch. A special little place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KnysnaGregorys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    38
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A hidden sanctuary just steps from Knysna Quays”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just a few paces from the main entrance to Knysna Quays, this little cafe is a delight. Peaceful, tasteful and with delighful gardens, the food is amazingly good too. fresh fruit juice blends to die for - the ginger and mint and apple mmmm! Salads came with edible flowers and tasty dressings. On a Saturday morning there was live music too. So easy to step in for quick coffee and stay for hours. We went 3 times in 5 days!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wildroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a little treasure to find. When we walked up the street from the Knysna waterfront area we didn't see this cafe which is set back from the road. On the return we popped in and had a great coffee and cake. We met Max and had a really good chat to him. It is comfofrting to meet a proprieter who is passionate about the business. Recommended

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sparky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
397 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime find”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stumbled across The Tin House Cafe almost by accident but really enjoyed the food & drink on offer. Wish we could have spent longer here. Super food & good value too

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Knysna!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This little and warm hearted cafe is in the midst of Knysna. If you find the Le Petit Pan -you´ll find this only a few meters further (towards the Waterfront). We lived in Knysna for a month in jan/feb 2011 and we basically ate our lunch here every other day. Going back there again this October -it hadn´t change a bit. Only become a bit larger with a few seatings inside. You must absolutely have your lunch at this place when stopping in Knysna -I would actually go so far as to say that wherever you are going on the Garden Route -stop here for lunch.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mountain77Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tin House Cafe also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Tin House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing