We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite must visit when in Knysna”
Review of Pembreys

Pembreys
Ranked #1 of 171 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bistro, casual country cooking including South African dishes.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Holidaying in ZA for fourth time in as many years, we have returned to Pembreys, with full expectations of being further impressed again, and we were not disappointed. With the exception of a duplication in the starters, all four of us each had 3 courses, and selected different dishes from the comprehensive menu. Each and every plate was thoroughly enjoyed. Beautifully presented with tastes and flavours to match. Efficient, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and welcome opportunities to speak to owners.
For me, I will not now order Springbok Loin elsewhere, as it could not be so delicious as that served at Pembreys.

1  Thank Bon-Accord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for returning to visit us and for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 399 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We make a point of going to Pembrys each trip to Knysna. Venue itself is a bit traditional and the room a little austere, but the food makes up for that.

Waitstaff heave around chalkboards with the daily menu, to each table in turn, and you then all try to decipher the packed writing. Service is "measured" some people even suggest a little slow at times - you don't want to be in a hurry! (And why would you be?)

Then your food arrives and you forget the rest. Always great and reliably tasty. I even eat all my vegetables - not a regular occurence! Leave space for pudding - the ice creams are exquisite.

After our first visit, this trip, with friends we (two) decided we had to go back a couple of days later. This is not easy, as the place is booked well in advance in season - take note if you want to go. We got in, fortunately, and enjoyed another great meal.

Best food in Knysna - no doubt about it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your review - appreciated by us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

we had a great valentine evening which we had to book before we left the uk!!
this is a lovely restaurant with the husband a great chef and his wife very friendly as manager.
we have been for many years and the food is as marvellous as ever and this coupled with lovely wines to choose from.
this is a superb restaurant but one must book well in advance.

Thank michaeldufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

After 13 years we visited Pembreys , i was disappointed ... the place still looks the same , and the food has not kept up with the times . Back in 2001 , the innovative ideas like the springbok in a chocolate sauce were just amazing and delicious .
Now .... it's too much Old French Cuisine ... not enough of what this country has achieved in the culinary world ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank LeCollanediLollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

We are just a simple bistro as Peter was trained in French cooking. We have our identity so that our patrons know what to expect especially as we have many, who come in for the kidneys, tongue etc dishes which are not served anywhere else on the Garden Route. In our humble opinion, too many restaurants have come and gone as they have not established a clientele who appreciate what they serve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to Pembreys and we had yet another great meal. There is a great selection across meat & fish and the food is lovely. We will return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you again for your positive review. Peter and Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembreys also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Pembreys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing