We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant to go for that special occasion”
Review of Pembreys

Pembreys
Ranked #1 of 171 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bistro, casual country cooking including South African dishes.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It was our first visit to Pembreys this week and we thoroughly enjoyed the occasion. The meal was fabulous and we loved the fact that they try so hard to do different recipes with vegetables. The service was efficient but could have been a bit friendlier. It is a little on the pricey side but worth it for that special occasion. The place was packed for a Wednesday evening which goes to prove that they have got it right.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. We think that if you worked out that you do not pay extra for vegetables, bread and butter and, despite our extensive and reasonably priced wine list we allow b.y.o, it will work out on a par with most. When guests are dining with us for the first time, one has to strike a balance with being too friendly and intrusive, especially if it is a special occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 399 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I feel sad when reviewers of Pembreys say that they had no room left for dessert. This is one place where you really have to push through to the end! The food is always so divine. The figs with Gorgonzola, the crab ravioli, the duck - one really can't go wrong. And then the desserts! On my most recent visit I had the panna cotta with rhubarb and elderflower compote and cardamom ice cream - each flavour just perfect. The lemon tart with lavender ice cream on a previous visit must be one of the loveliest desserts I've ever eaten. All served in a peaceful country setting away from the crowds of central Knysna in season. Service is excellent and staff very friendly. Don't miss out on Pembreys and make sure to go there hungry!

Thank Seaborne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you! As the Season goes on, you cannot imagine how much we appreciate a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The previous reviewer "WoodyElephant" has produced such a brilliant review, I hesitate to follow.

Here you have a husband and wife team who have dedicated themselves to creating their vision of a great restaurant.

A calm & welcoming ambience
Space & privacy
Comfortable seating
Elegant table settings
Calm, friendly & efficient service.
Outstanding food & wine options.

For the starter my wife chose Steak tartare with melba toast whilst I had the King prawns this was followed by Mossel Bay Sole for my wife and I elected for the Springbok loin. The desserts were respectively Creme brule & Sorbets.

All was cooked to perfection.

Viv and her team on front of house were delightful & Peter took the trouble to come and chat after the meal.

We were lucky enough to spend a month in SA and eat in a number of highly rated restaurants
and Pembreys was amongst the very best.

Thank you Viv & Peter

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tourist172013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you, it means a lot to our staff and ourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

If there is a problem with Pembreys, it is whether to start with a selection of their dozen or more wonderful antipasti, freshly made each day, or give in to ordering the baby calamari or warm duck breast salad. Then again, it could be a problem if, having taken a starter and main course, that you have no room left for dessert in this, the only restaurant I know in which I cannot resist trying the home made ice-cream or sorbet.

The thing about Pembreys is that the food is not simply great - certainly the best anywhere around Knysna - but that it is consistently great, whether it be the breast of guinea fowl and risotto, the sole or the slow cooked shank of Karoo lamb.

Also it does not seem to matter how busy it is. The hostess and the same two waitresses know the place inside out and service flows seamlessly without fuss, but with always a smile.

Some restaurants may be flashy and trendy, like a new top-end Maserati. Pembreys is more like an old Jaguar with an engine that quietly purrs and invites you to sit back and enjoy the ride.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WoodyElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Peter just loved and appreciated, your motor car comparison! Just for the record, he drives a 1927 Austin 7 but he would love a Jag!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited the restaurant on a weekday evening towards the end of the holiday season and enjoyed the nice, relaxing athmosphere and being away from hords of people. The place filled up quickly but the service remained attentive and friendly without being pushy. We thought the food and wine to be very good. Make especially sure to keep some room in your tummy for their delicious desserts, they are really yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SHP_PRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Our waiting staff appreciated your comments on their service - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembreys also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Pembreys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing