We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”
Review of Pembreys

Pembreys
Ranked #1 of 170 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bistro, casual country cooking including South African dishes.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a wonderful evening at Pempbeys - even though we had no reservation, the hosts have welcomed us warmly. The food was great! We had ostrich and springbok - the meat was tender and the side dishes excellent. Definitely a nice restaurant with warm atmosphere and delicious food!

Thank clabecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are most grateful for your review - THANK YOU! Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 396 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Peter and Vivian are just so professional. They produce the best food in the region. I go to this restaurant often and we have never has a bad meal!

1  Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

WE appreciate you and your family's support of Pembreys and that you are always so polite to our staff. THANK YOU. Pete & Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The food is really good. The service was great and it is the better option in a town that lacks atmosphere in the winter months.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcus f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for this review! We are so pleased that you found us. Peter & Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were referred here by the B & B we were staying, Brenton Beach House. We were late in arriving, but they were gracious enough to take us in. Great ambience with a fireplace in the dining area and it was warm and cozy. The menu is brought to your table on a large chalk board. We had the ostrich medallions and the sprinbok shanks which were to die for. Quite frankly, we wanted to try so many things on the menu, we had a hard time narrowing down what we wanted. The dessert was also one of the best I've had. The prices were very reasonable for the quality of food and everything was prepared to perfection. The service was terrific and everyone was so nice. Very romantic as well. A great all-around restaurant. You will not be disappointed. This was a meal to remember.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rockwood19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your review which we read when we returned from our holiday and it spurred us on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a great Sunday lunch here. The starters were plentiful and tasteful. My lamb shank was large and beautifully cooked. Service was great. In my opinion, the interior of the restaurant has been improved but perhaps some soft drapes would reduce the echoing sound. It is definitely one of the best restaurants in Knysna.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kmiller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for the review and we are pleased that you enjoyed the Lunch which we usually serve on the stoep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembreys also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Pembreys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing