We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly wonderful Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pembreys

Pembreys
Ranked #1 of 159 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistro, casual country cooking including South African dishes.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful Cuisine”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Lovely evening at Pembreys, my first time. Big fire, attentive staff. A superb menu with unusual offerings: sweetbreads, rabbit. Beautiful wine list. Our meals were excellent, the personalized attention (by Manager and Chef) special and all too rare these days...we loved it and will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beainafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you, our staff and ourselves, appreciate your taking the time to write this review. Viv and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    72
    20
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Continues to shine”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Pembreys is by far the best restaurant in the Knysna area. The menu is really interesting and Peter makes the best bread and butter pudding besides all the other lovely items - its always so difficult making a choice. The prices are excellent and so is the wine list. Owning a running a B&B in Knysna provides us with the opportunity to send our guests to Pembreys and we have yet to receive a complaint - and this after 6 years!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KnysnaHideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurants in Knysna”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Located in a beatiful place and designed with a lot of taste this is definitely one of the top places to have a dinner in Knysna. The menu contains a variety of gourmet dishes. The service is excellent and the owners are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Having been to Pembreys several times now, I can confirm that it is my favourite. Top quality menu, beautiful presentation, excellent service

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Lots of choice in starters and mains. The three of us each had a different starter and main; all of them were good but the desserts were the best. Quality of food and value was the best of all the restaurants we tried in Knysna.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belpat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembreys also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Pembreys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing