We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knysna Riverside Lodge
Ranked #51 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Caminha
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The location of Riverside Lodge is quite superb with constantly changing views across the water, bird life, guinea fowl strutting across the grass morning and evening, etc. Photos are miseading and the accommodation is definitely in need of upgrading. Dinner was OK, as was cooked breakfast, but continental breakfast barely adequate. This place has 5 star potential

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kitty_eastaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    3
    10
    11
See reviews for
19
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just came back from a weekend, staying at the lodge. Although we had a lovely time, there are few things that need some attention. Our room was clean and had a lovely big shower (shower floor need some attention though). The room was furnished nicely and had everything you need. The television can GO... you can just experience the view. Speaking of views - the lodge has breathtaking views. We had a dip in the swimming pool and it was clean. The outdoor furniture is dated and just need some TLC. Sometimes it is just the little "luxuries" that makes the difference - even if it comes to a higher room rate. Thank you Johann and Madeleen - you and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. The moral of the story, if you want 5* quality you must be willing to pay for it. If you have a tight budget - you must be prepared that it might not be exactly 5*.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tergnieters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I am surprised to read the negative reviews on this place. I have stayed there a few days ago in a room in the main house and it was gorgeous. The location is amazing and the owners were really nice and sweet to me. I am sorry to read that others did not have the experience I had. Perhaps, the owners have upgraded my room already as they said they are in the process of doing so. I would definitely book the same room here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Women_of_Juarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great location a little out of town in tranquille suroundings and beautiful views. Very friendly staff and a big, nice country style room. More than you could expect for your money. With the great 'Die Gieter' restaurant on the grounds. Highly recommended. We totally don't recognize the badmouthing in previous comments. Sounds like a vendetta to me!?!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have to agree with most of the other reviews here. This is the first time in fifty years I have refused to stay in a Hotel. The room was damp and there was mildew in the fridge. We moved to another room but it wasn't,t much better. I felt sorry for the elderly couple who were obviously trying to run it but I simply could not stay there- I would have been bitten to death! And it simply was not up to even a basic standard. It was embarrassing to have to tell them that we could not stay but to rate it as four star is simply outrageous! I would not rate it above one star.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vaughansBrecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We checked in on Christmas Eve, quite late, into their cottage, supposedly for 3 nights. We were travelling the garden route and had stayed in other amazing B&B's, Lodges some quite a bit cheaper. Despite every window being open in summer the place absolutely STANK OF MOULD AND DAMP. You wouldn't keep a dog there. We could not breathe in the place or bear to touch the furniture, let alone sleep in the damp cold beds. The TV did not work and there was no throws/cushions like on their website... Suffice to say we checked into the Protea (late and in a panic) and then enjoyed Xmas. Literally we would have paid any amount to escape and not stay at this lodge. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. I have also to say I do not believe any of the positive comments made about this place are real. The woman at reception is not a nice lady in my opinion and should not be in business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wils673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I honestly can't believe this place was given 4 stars. We stayed only one night but were really shocked: rooms are quite dirty, fan didn't work (owner unapologetically told me 'it was broken long time ago and we never fixed it'), furniture is cheap and rottening on the corners, and there was only a bath (no shower) in our room.
My suspicion is that this was luxury accommodation 20 years ago and the owner got too old to realise what luxury is nowadays. Or they just play dumb and cash in the money; after all they will get customers anyways since knysna is one of SA's top destination. I however believe they should be fined for false advertising, as another review suggests.
This place should be sold as a budget accommodation and priced accordingly.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank raisonperdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.8 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.5 mi away
Knysna River Club
Knysna River Club
#24 of 101 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
6.2 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 101 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#41 of 127 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.1 mi away
191 Nirvana
191 Nirvana
#42 of 101 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
10.7 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 13 in Sedgefield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Riverside Lodge

Property: Knysna Riverside Lodge
Address: 5 Phantom Pass Road, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country style river and garden view suites available in Knysna on the Garden Route, situated on a private nature reserve of over 25 hectares, overlooking the Knysna River and Knysna Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Knysna Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing