We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knysna Riverside Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$124
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$186
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$101
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$175
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russel Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$69
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$70
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$124
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
36
29
3
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
29
3
10
11
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 89 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

spent 2 nights before travelling to Capetown, regret could have stayed for more nights and njoy the nearby hiking trails or walk/jog by the waterside. Its just a km or two from the town center. Though there are plenty option near the town center, this one and the Phantom Lodge are perfect to be yet away from the cars and the traffic. The Phantom Pass road is excellent to walk/jog/bicycle with kids through out the day. Owners can try to upkeep the lodge by good landscaping. They have ample space for it but just plain grass. Must hike to the well and if weather permits... a dinner in the boma wud be wonderful.

Room Tip: Try the first lodge that arrives first on the left, once you enter the premise. Or the one above the reception area. Its more beautiful in the mornings for a good view at the water & some yoga under the rising sun!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prince71272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Phone booking on Saturday for 3 nights from Monday but on leaving they said I had booked for 5 nights, and if I had wanted fewer I had to give a month’s notice! The manager would not come and argue with me but sent a message via his parents that he would refund R600 (1 night) and that was all.
The parents of the owner are trying to run the place with no hotel experience and poor staff handling.
R3000 deposit was asked for immediately on arrival. Was given vouchers for breakfasts valued R35 each.
No help with the luggage, on arrival and at departure, despite us being old.
The room was acceptable and clean, although the door did not fit well and let in rain and cold air.
Their restaurant seems to be run separately from the hotel since they refused to add the bill to the hotel account. Ordered muesli/yoghurt/fruit for breakfast which came in one large glass (very pretty), but everything else was extra. Cup of Rooibos tea R12, slice of toast R6 each, jam R5. Butter was free!
This is a dishonest establishment. It is not made clear to visitors that breakfast is not included and is à la carte.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank quinting g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes B, Owner at Knysna Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

HI

I was very surprised to read this review, as you had in fact booked for five nights, as opposed to three. You signed a check-in form for the five nights and even paid in full for the five nights on check-in. Also, under our cancellation policy, we do not provide refunds for early departures (which is industry standard). However, as a gesture of goodwill, we agreed to provide you a refund, which you seemed happy with at the time.

The owner was not available when you checked out, but the manager on duty phoned the owner and he authorised the refund payment, even though it goes against our cancellation policy. Apologies that he could not personally speak to you at that time.

It is, however, your suggestion that the lodge is dishonest that concerns us most. You booked and paid for five nights, and then departed early in high season, expecting a full refund. This is unreasonable and you will not find many (if any) hotels that will refund you your money in these circumstances, but we agreed to a refund, as a gesture of goodwill.

With regards to the breakfast, we include a voucher that can be spent in our top rated restaurant on the premises, which is fully licensed. This allows guests to either have breakfast, lunch or dinner, as we find that many guests want to skip breakfast so as to explore the wonderful surroundings, and rather return for dinner. If spent on breakfast, it will allow you to have a full English or health breakfast and a coffee or tea, all included in the room rate.

Finally, we note that you rated us highly for our location, cleanliness and sleep quality - thank you for this.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I came here as part of my 3 weeks trip around SA with my girlfriend. the hospitality shown by the hosts was very pleasant and made us feel very welcome. the room we took was beautiful and comfy that gave us privacy and comfort as much as we needed. And of course, nice view!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuvalinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was the most awsome ''mini-vacation" that I had ever been on. A good few months ago, I had purchased vouchers(Groupon) for friends of mine who were going up to Knysna for a motor rally. I was supposed to have joined them but some work-related obligation popped up so I had to give it a miss. He had however asked the owners if they would allow small pets on the the property in the future......They were so accomodating and said that it would be a pleasure, and that he just needed to notify them in advance.

About 3 weeks ago, I decided to take my new car on the open road.....So the 3 of us(my bezzie, my 10 mnth old Yorkie and myself) cruised the beautiful and scenic Garden Route.

Greeted by Madelyn, her other half and their little Yorkie(Portos), we immediately felt like this was home....The rooms were really clean, tastefully decorated and offered a breathtaking view. Tea and coffee, clean drinking water as well as clean bedding were replaced on a daily basis and it was bliss waltzing into a clean and tidy room after a day of roaming the lodge's vast but beautiful grounds. Aston and Portos got along like a house on fire......zooming arounding in the reception area and on the beautifully trimmed lawns. There was nothing more that one could ask for........

We spent most of our time at the lodge. We dashed into the town and the Waterfront but it was far too hectic!!! There was nothing more relaxing than the peace and tranquility offered by the Knysna Riverside Lodge.

"Die Gieter" restaurant was really something else! The deco style was equisite, the food, simply to-die-for ......and Dalene's warm smile definately added to the ambience. The kitchen staff were so accomodating and friendly and Ronaldo, an absolute star, as there was no request left unfilled. The breakfast pancakes were soooooo divine that one should not visit Die Gieter without tasting those!!!

Dalene offered my little Mr(Yorkie) a chair and even brought him a marrow bone on a dinner plate! lol. Definately a must-see! We even managed to buy some beautiful Biggie Best gifts to take home to Ouma.

This was my most relaxing trip ever and everybody at Knysna Riverside Lodge were so warm and hospitable that we will be sure to return......even sooner than expected!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaneshree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent two nights at the Knysna Riverside Lodge mid-September (thanks to Groupon!). A lovely place, situated in quiet, beautiful surroundings where there were many birds. Close to Knysna and Sedgefield. The reception and general service was excellent, and the meals we enjoyed at their restaurant, Die Gieter, were out of this world. One small glitch - for some reason or other, our toilet paper was not replenished (awkward!). Other than that, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were given a forest room away from the main house, which was close enough to everything, but still provided seclusion and privacy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews