We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lunar Cafe Knysna

Lunar Cafe Knysna
Ranked #60 of 157 Restaurants in Knysna
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We've created the perfect place for you to enjoy your brew, blended to perfection, the café is small and intimate, filling up quickly with a constant buzzing of coffee beans grinding away as wonderful aromas of espresso fill the air. Our grey tables are small and quaint with funky white designer chairs to offset the casual softness of our 80yr old Persian carpet which is proudly displayed in the center of triple volume space.
Worceter Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab Coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have been using the coffee shop for my frequent visits to Knysna the manager is always very helpful and the coffee in my opinion the best in Knysna. They serve light meals and snaks, wifi also available to chack email. Located in the main shopping area close to Woolies and Spa with great safe parking. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SadieWorceterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“unfriendly and over-priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Must have caught the blonde owner/manager lady on a bad day...3 times in a row!! We reluctantly met our local friend here...but again, our presence was barely acknowledged by the service personal. I presume people hang out here because they know the owner or because it's located close to the mall...maybe it's because of the wi-fi service ( which the owner/manager lady seems to be hooked on) The service was slow and when our food eventually arrived, it was served without passion and finesse. We love supporting locals running local businesses, but this place will not see us again! Sorry, you must try harder!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank treeCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
“One of Knysna's better choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

One of my preferred spots to hang out in the morning. Their barista's cappuccino is amongst the better ones in Knysna. The breakfasts are delicious. And with free wi-fi I can comfortably relax while keeping my in-box clear.

My only disappointment is they no longer roast their own coffee.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manweri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just the best coffee in town - best service too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Pouring simply the best coffee on the Garden Route, Lunar Cafe also serves a menu sure to satisfy the most demanding of taste buds.
But what makes any restaurant or coffee shop truly special, is excellent service - which Lunar Cafe has in spades.
Well done to the friendly and efficient management and staff who are always attentive, always friendly, and always ready with a refill of the best coffee in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden route
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

A restaurants success rests on three pillars - ambience , service and food .I think Lunar Cafe is strategically placed in a mall. Seating indoors and outdoors. I liked the ambience The long tables are conducive to meeting friends and strangers .Magazines and newspapers can occupy those alone and/or bored and you will get bored with the service. Talk about slow. I felt a little embarrased asking the rather shy waiter for a menu... The person managing the Cafe was mostly outside smoking or eating or on a laptop.. The only recognition of my presence was given to me when standing up to leave.Wow , a smile and eye contact on departing. What had I done wrong to get the cold shoulder ? I don,t know but here's the rub friends . The coffee is undoubtedly the best in town . The food is simpe ,varied ,well plated and DELICIOUS. Go there . The owners must work urgently on the service . Please. OK ?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenrouteOstrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunar Cafe Knysna also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Sedgefield, Knysna
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Lunar Cafe Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing