We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must" in Knysna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A "must" in Knysna”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Tessa and Friedel are the greatest hosts you could possibly immagine and they do everything to make their guests feel at home. The B&B is located a little outside of the hustle and bustle of central Knysna, but still close enough to get there very easily. The room we stayed in is beautifully decorated and makes you feel at home - it's big and looks out onto a big patio. Breakfast is awesome, too: Tessa's homemade egg-pie was to die for and everything was served with so much love and care. We would come back anytime (hopefully soon!) and can only highly recommend the Hopevilla B&B. We had a blast and still remember the fun time we had with our hosts very fondly. Indeed a home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa W, Owner at Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
It was great having you here and getting to know both of you! Hope that you had fun on your journey back to Cape Town. We hope to see you again at Hope Villa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
52
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My partner and I decided that we were going to go to the Oyster Festival for the first time. What had put us off in the past, was the thought of the crowds and not being able to get away from it
We were so fortunate to stay in a lovely B & B called Hopevilla. It was close enough to the ''hub hub' of things but far enough to be situated in tranquility.
We stayed in a gorgeous, spacious bedroom en suite....one of the beautiful 4 bedrooms available.
Breakfast was served at the time that was convenient to us and they even work up earlier to accommodate the runners.
Evenings were spent communing with other guests outside and inside when it got chilly.
It felt like a bit of a ''home away from home'' experience and we can't wait to return sometime in the near future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LigiaMaria939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Tessa & Freudel, the host and hostess, could not have made our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. The house lends itself to a feeling of home from home. Tessa was so thoughtful as to send us a list of restaurants and even booked us a table at one. The location of the house is perfect, close to the Heads, restaurant and coffeeshop, viewpoints, lagoon and sea, and it offers off-street parking.

Room Tip: Room with the fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reflex45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Tessa & Freidel, our genial hostess & host, made our stay most enjoyable. Our en suite bedroom was spacious, comfortable and spotless as was the lounge, warmed by a cheerful fire to warm the evenings. Being just a minute or two's stroll from The Heads with its excellent restaurant and coffee shop gave us a relaxing time at this lovely end of the lagoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Garth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I enjoyed staying in the Hope villa Guest House, I had nice breakfast, the hosts were lovely I would thank them for their hospitality. we had tea together with the hosts (wife and husband) the location of the house is so beautiful and very quite....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Isma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
320 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 126 in Knysna
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#8 of 126 in Knysna
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#12 of 126 in Knysna
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Augusta Bay
Augusta Bay
#23 of 126 in Knysna
205 reviews
2.3 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hope Villa, in the beautiful Garden Route town of Knysna, is situated at The Heads. Stunning beaches, restaurants, golf courses and many leisure and adventure activities on your doorstep make this your ideal holiday accommodation choice! Your hosts will welcome you to this comfortable and stylish accommodation with their warm and personal touch! We speak English, Afrikaans and German. Enjoy a delicious breakfast in the diningroom or on the verandah, while the many nearby restaurants provide a mouth-watering choice for lunch and dinner.Hope Villa is an historic house. Construction of the house commenced in 1899 and was completed in 1901. The home is built of stone taken from the cliffs behind the house and features yellowwood floors, windows, oregan pine ceilings and doorframes. The house has since been tastefully restored. Hope Villa is a mere stroll away from the lagoon, restaurants and the scenic Eastern Heads viewpoints and walk, and is just a few kilometres from the centre of town. A few metres down the road takes you to a small lagoon beach from where you can walk out onto the lagoon sands at low tide or have a refreshing swim when the tide comes in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing