We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose Carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knysna Quays Accommodation
Ranked #20 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in 2 different apartments and had 2 entirely different experiences, my advice is to view the apartment before committing if at all possible. First night was in #11 on the second floor which was really amazing, the other occasion was in #5 on the first floor which was less so. It was winter and during a cold snap, in the second apartment the under floor heating in the lounge didn't work, neither did the heater, the TV was faulty with a crackling sound and somebody in the apartment above seem to be either jumping up and down or bouncing a ball, very intrusive, the noise form the parking lot was also pretty loud. The first apartment (#11) was a great experience, warm, comfortable and well equipped with coffee, milk and a bottle of port and it is far enough removed from the parking area and restaurants to be peaceful.

I think that in winter the north facing apartments get more sun (we were in South Quays, north facing), the ones across the canal in North Quays which face south were in the shade. Probably in the summer the opposite could be true though. But it does seem to be well worthwhile choosing your apartment carefully. Overall we had a good stay and the value is very good.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor apartments and the South Quays are get the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisCorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenny V, Manager at Knysna Quays Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi Chris,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your second night with us. Unfortunately we have limited accommodation in South Quay and as that was your Block of choice we offered you the only apartment available for that night. We have checked out the problems mentioned and I am happy to tell you all is resolved. The underfloor heating is working but takes a quite a long time before a guest feels the result because the apartment has Travertine floors as opposed to carpets in your previous apartment. The crackling on the TV was caused by a bad connection in the surround sound which has now been rectified.
We hope that the problems will not discourage you from visiting us again. Regards Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 107 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

In spite of some really unwelcoming weather, the moment my wife and I arrived at Knysna Quays things started to improve. Even our latish arrival [be sure to tell them if you are arriving late!!] wasn't a problem and we were shown to our apartment by the delightful, friendly Gloria...who lived up to her name. Her friendly and efficient explanations of all the amenities of our holiday apartment had us overwhelmed...we've done self-catering frequently, and the "Fully equipped" of Knysna Quays raised the bar to Olympian standards (particularly the decanter of sherry....) The underfloor heating chased away the wintry weather and the quality linen and furnishings were like home.

Will we stay anywhere else in Knysna??? Not a chance.....and we're not going to mention the Unit we had, with the best canal views, otherwise it will never be available when we might want it again! KQ is right in the action...we could eat out at a restaurant, enjoy some drinks and get home safely (a short walk) and our vehicle was safe in covered parking under the complex, behind two security gates.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenny V, Owner at Knysna Quays Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi Andrew,
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We will not divulge your flat number to anyone unless they insist :) Hopefully we can arrange some better weather next time. Really looking forward to seeing you back at the Knysna Quays in apartment number........... Regards. Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Most beautiful place I have ever had the privilege to visit, overlooking the water right on the waterfront, stunning sunsets from the balcony, just awesome. Definitely a place that I will come and stay at again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

knysna is the heaven of the Western Cape. Staying at the Knysna Quays Apartments was a great experience. The apartment was clean and very spacious.The view overlooking the canal was very serene and peaceful - it makes you forget about your stresses in life. Definitely coming back and definitely would recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: make sure the rooms have canal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent five days during the Oyster Festival in an apartment on the Knysna Quays. This was top quality accomodation- the flat was spotless and very well decorated. Our view over tha canal was lovely and we even had two resident owls in the palm tree next to the balcony. The location is ideal for eating out at night as there are great restaurants within 5 minutes walk from the flat
It was a very enjoyable experience and I would definately recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelle09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was the 3rd time using this wonderful facility. View is calm and exquisitely serene. Reception friendly, informative and extremely professional. Even impressed after our 3rd visit. Able to easily reach tourist attractions from Tsitsikama to George and beyond. Top quality restuarants complements the accomodation - please book tables at to Waterfront restuarants at least one to two weeks in advance to avoid dissapointment, especially during festivals and major events being staged in Knysna and surrounds. Peter LaB

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterLaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Knysna was the first point of our wonderful 8 day journey in S. Africa. Me and my husband drove down from Cape Town through the breathtaking Garden route stretch, only to be welcomed by a very cozy and comfortable 1BHK in Knysna Quays. Not only was the location apt, but the view from the room was so serene and calm. The rains and mist added to the beauty of the surrounding mountains. The dockyard and people passing by on their boats was quite a delight to watch! The kitchenette was very inviting and I also cooked a hearty breakfast on one of the days. The best part of the location was that we could do the boat trip till the Feather Bed and a little short of Knysna lagoon too. All bookings for adventure and boat rides are right below the accommodation, making it very convenient for first time travelers.
Must recommend to all those travelling to Knysna!!! You will have a fulfulling start :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NehaPKashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
0.3 mi away
Laguna Grove
Laguna Grove
#11 of 107 in Knysna
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thesen Islands' Lodges
Thesen Islands' Lodges
#16 of 107 in Knysna
90 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
17.7 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Quays Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Quays Accommodation

Address: Shop 38 Knysna Quays | Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: $82 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a range of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Each unit is fully furnished and well equipped with everything you may need. All units in our letting pool are owned by different people with different tastes and likes so each unit is decorated and furnished uniquely to that owner’s taste. You can be assured even though all the apartments are different we ensure that it holds up to the high standard of luxury which we, as Knysna Quays Accommodation, advertise and are known for. All of the apartments have lovely decks with great views of the surrounding quays and have a charcoal braai/grill for those lazy afternoons. A fully equipped kitchen with little extra’s like a washing machine and drier will help you with the day to day needs of you and your guests. The lounge has a DSTV with a full range of over 100 television channels. The rooms have beautiful and modern linen and towels so you do not need to bring your own. Your car is parked in a secure undercover parking lot. Our apartments are all situated at the Knysna Waterfront and have easy access to all its beautiful little shops and some of the very best restaurants in Knysna. The boarding dock for the ferries with trips to the Knysna Heads and on the lagoon is just a stone throw away from your doorstep. Other information that you need to be aware of regarding; • Children (under 12 years) – A couple of our units are not suitable for children younger than 12 years, so please advise us when making your reservation in order for us to place you in the appropriate unit. • Moorings - Some of our 1 and 2 bedroom units do not have their own moorings, so please advise well in advance whether you will be needing one in order for us to make the arrangements. • Trailers – The complex’ parking space for boat trailers is very limited. Please advise us whether you will be needing a parking area for your trailer including the size, so that we can advise you on the alternative possibilities. • Arrival and Departure - We require a REFUNDABLE KEY AND BREAKAGE DEPOSIT of R1000.00 on checking in. This is secured with a hold on your credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knysna Quays Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing