We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, what a nice location and wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knysna Quays Accommodation
Ranked #19 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
214 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Wow, what a nice location and wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

'One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured.' This is from their website and all true. A gorgeous place to stay, right next to a shopping area and plenty of shopping to be had here. The boats are beautiful too! There are many restaurants around - we had dinner out with my tour group at the Dry Dock and it was super excellent and fun. Had lunch at another spot there and it was so good I order the shrimp twice?

Rooms are lovely, clean and hotel is perfect for groups or individuals. There is a money changer across the street but all the shops that I shopped at take U.S. and credit cards.

Free internet is always nice...everyone was totally happy here...too bad it was only for 2 nights. There is a pool. Also in the area are 12 golf courses...quite the resort area...as it is a very popular summer holiday destination.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    37
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
44
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the second time we have used Knysna Quays Accommodation and have found them once again to be excellent. The units are always clean and tidy and the decor is commonly themed around the beach and lagoon location. It is centrally located and excellent lock up and go with great security and peace of mind. The staff are friendly and the cleaning service is prompt and do a great service. I would recommend the accommodation to anyone from a solo business man to a family of 5 or six.

Thanks once again to the team.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenny V, Owner at Knysna Quays Accommodation, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. It was a pleasure having you back for a 2nd visit. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Best about this was the location as we had been worried about walking out for dinner each night, but here there are multiple restaurants right on doorstep.So no worries about drinking/driving or security. We were given a 2 bed flat (number 17) having booked a 1 bed so it felt very spacious.These apartments are starting to show their age a bit but think was was reflected in the price. Well equipped kitchen (newish appliances) but we didn't need to cook at all. The sofa was far too soft and the chairs too uncomfortable to sit in, and we found the mattress suffered from a roll-together dip in the middle. Too many knick-knack ornaments for our taste so we just put them out of sight. Lovely big balconey which only got the morning sun - probably a good thing in height of summer - but it would have been nice to sit outside of an evening but was too shady/cold in spring. A central base to go out from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenny V, Owner at Knysna Quays Accommodation, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi, Thank you very much for staying with us and for the review. Obviously we are troubled when a guest has not experienced a very enjoyable stay with us. I hope you will give us another chance in the future and we will gladly move you to another apartment should we be aware that you are not altogether happy with your accommodation. Kind regards, Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have repeated this review as there seem to be two Tripadvisor entries for the apartments at Knysna Quays. I am sure they both refer to the same rental apartments.
Stayed for 2 nights with friends in a two bed roomed apartment which has everything you could possibly need to make your visit comfortable. We had been travelling for 11 days through the country with many one night stopovers so we had loads of washing to do and the washing machine and tumble drier worked overtime!
We had stayed before with other friends so knew it would be the perfect place to stay for our ex South African friend now living in Australia. He loves boats and yachts and is a real water man! So our position overlooking the waterways was perfect.
Our only complaint we had was when the people below us made a fire for their braai in their big open braai. We were smoked off our balcony and had to keep the doors closed to avoid all the smoke.Then afterwards we had to open all doors to get rid of the smoky smell in the apartment. The whole event seemed to take forever as they first made a huge log fire and then added briquettes and then they only started braai-ing the meat after a long, long time.
Luckily it was September and still chilly so it wasn't too much of a problem to keep the doors closed but in midsummer it could be a horrible experience as the smoke literally comes straight up from below. There should only be closed Weber braais allowed or built in barbecues with chimneys to avoid this.
If you want to view the pics they are on the other review - "Apartments at Knysna Quays".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer100CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are still very impressed with the apartment, we could not believe that it had a washing machine and a dryer - we have never ever stayed in an apartment that had these amenities. It is also quite spacious and secure. The location is superb with lots of restaurants within walking distance. The only problem we had was the braai stand it is rusted. An investment in a new one would go a long way in keeping customers happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nolunkcwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colblaine, Marketing Consultant at Knysna Quays Accommodation, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review - we have noted your comment regarding the braai stand and will make sure it has been sorted it as soon as possible. We look forward to seeing you again. Knysna Quays Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from a hassle free annual u13 cricket tour! we stayed at the Knysna Quays - it was so central the matches were in and around Plett and Knysna. The complex has all you need with shops and restuarants in walking distance! will definitly book again. We booked a 3 room unit and found it very affordable. would reccomend to other parent groups for next year! Many thanks
Debbie Johnson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset East, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Enjoyed our weekend. Accomodation has everything that you require to have an organized stay. The quay is so peaceful, and it has all the shops and restaurants only a few metres away -no need to drive anywhere. Perfect!!

Room Tip: if you a couple room 6 -south Quay is just for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
3.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Quays Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Quays Accommodation

Property: Knysna Quays Accommodation
Address: Shop 38 Knysna Quays | Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury waterfront apartments on the waters edge in the Knysna Quays, at the Knysna Waterfront South Africa. These include 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments that are fully equipped and furnished with everything you would need to enjoy a stress free holiday. All units are spacious and fresh with a wonderful seaside theme and feeling. They are light and sunny and provide stunning views of the Quays and Waterfront.We are within short walking distance of the Knysna Quays Waterfront with its numerous shops, coffee shops and restaurants. In addition to that the centre of Knysna is less than a kilometre away and is an easy 5 minute walk. Just around the corner is the Knysna Yacht Club and jetty for numerous ferries across the famous Knysna Lagoon and Featherbed Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Knysna Quays Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing