We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast on our own balcony overlooking the Laguna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Villa Guest House
Ranked #7 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed two nights at this beautiful and extremely clean guesthouse.
We were welcomed by the owner who helped us kindly with the luggage, explained us the room details etc.
His wife gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations.
There is a large beautiful living room with balcony to use any time of the day.
We had a very spacious room with a large balcony and stunning views.
Breakfast is served upon wish in the room for example on the private balcony....delicious!..we enjoyed it so much!thank you!
The room is decorated in white, simple but charming.
The bathroom was very spacious , modern and again very very clean.
We definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Corner room with balcony on upper level
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for South Villa Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 211 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

A beautiful position overlooking the lagoon. The welcome was hospitable and genuine and the attention to detail very creditable. South villa is impeccably maintained both inside and out. Our expectations were high and the service,hospitality and comfort exceeded those we had. We were offered breakfast in our room which was a real treat and the room itself was beautifully appointed offering a calm retreat from the rigors of a very long drive. We would highly recommend South Villas. It offers great value for money.Thank you marina for your hospitality and kindness.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Droobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Fully recommend this guesthouse for any visitor . Lovely staff, breakfast, views, rooms .
Knysna definitely worth a trip.Great views of the lagoon. Spotlessly clean guesthouse. Gave us lots of helpful information for our onward journey

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Feenz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights in South Villa and greatly enjoyed it.
It is located in a beautiful part of town in a beautiful part of the country.
The view from the balcony was increadible.

The proprietors went out of their way to accommodate all our needs and there was nothing we could ask that was too much for them.

I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a top class guest house in Knysna and would happily stay there again myself.

Room Tip: book the double deluxe room - it's slightly more expensive, but worth the price
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notreallythabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was a very enjoyable stay and we could not recommend this place more highly. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely. The rooms were gorgeous with a fantastic view. Our favourite stay on the Garden Route.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mac_everton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have never had a bad stay in a bed and breakfast in South Africa but this place is a cut above, and the reason for this is they think of everything that you could possibly need on your stay. The room was perfect, it as clean, there was a balcony with fabulous views, a fridge with fresh milk in, which was replaced as soon as you had used it, bathroom stocked with everything you need, hooks to hang your things on (lacking in some b&b's) a fantastic breakfast served on your balcony, excellent hosts who were visible and helpful but not intrusive.
It is a 20 minute walk to the quayside or town centre so ideally placed, I would not hesitate to come back or recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 2 ideally placed in between trees so good view over lagoon - all other rooms look good too
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supergeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This guesthouse is everything you would want it to be, and more. From the warm welcome on arrival, the quality of the rooms and furnishings, to those important touches such as fresh milk in the fridge and high quality cosmetics in the bathroom. With superb views over the bay, who could fail to enjoy a delicious, freshly cooked, breakfast on the balcony. Marina had plenty of helpful suggestions for where to eat and what to do in the area. On her advice we walked to the waterfront for dinner (about 15min and there’s a wide range of restaurants to choose from), and felt perfectly safe in doing so. If we are ever in the area again we’d make for South Villa.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#11 of 127 in Knysna
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#15 of 127 in Knysna
329 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#13 of 127 in Knysna
534 reviews
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 127 in Knysna
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Villa Guest House

Address: 22 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $64 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Villa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Villa Guest House situated in the tranquil suburb of Paradise, in the town of Knysna. All our rooms feature a private balcony overlooking the Knysna lagoon and Knysna Heads. South Villa is ideally positioned to take advantage of all major attractions in and around Knysna. All rooms are fitted with: TV with DVD, Fully stocked Minibar, Tea and coffee makers, Electronic Safes. Bathroom Amenities: Hair Dryers, Bathrobes & Beach Towels, Queen extra length size beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your South Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing